We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macquarie Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macquarie Manor
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I booked this hotel as a 'mystery deal', claiming it was 4.5 star accommodation in a luxury suite. Much to my surprise when we arrived, we were put in the cheapest room they had, in the 'new wing'. It claimed to be heritage, but our room was disgusting and pink. The staff were terribly unprofessional, and even said that if one of us slept in the 2nd bed, we would be charged extra (funny, because I was sure I paid for the room, not per head). Checkout couldn't come soon enough, and I thought that would be the last I heard of them, until I checked my credit card bill, and there was a transaction on there by the hotel, that I certainly hadn't authorised. I wrote to the hotel, and am still waiting for a response. Since I didn't use the mini bar or any other extra cost services. You can imagine my surprise. I will never stay here again, and would never reccommend this hotel to anyone, even if they were my worst enemy.

Room Tip: DO NOT USE A CREDIT CARD, or you will find some unauthorised transactions on your bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thew0rldismyOYSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    81
    57
    31
    14
See reviews for
15
150
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I booked my room on a Wotif mystery deal, and was a little concerned when I checked the ratings with tripadvisor,there were a lot of reviews from reviewers with only one review saying how wonderful this property is and they travel a lot. If you travel a lot why only one review?

Good for location, room size (room 1), service, friendliness, cleanliness and despite being on the mainroom, my room was quite quiet because it was set back a bit, earplugs probably wouldn't go astray.

Not so good for parking, carpark very compact, little room to reverse/three point turns etc when the carpark is full. Reversing out of the narrow lane way into 4 lanes of traffic peak hour traffic isn't fun...thankfully someone was kind enough to let me reverse into the lane and out.

Didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on that, other meals are not provided.

it is probably more a bed and breakfast than hotel. Very few services are provided and reception closes 6pm. There is a reasonably priced mini bar in room.

Property is more good than average, but there isn't a good rating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I spent twelve days at the Macquarie Manor and is was absolutely wonderful! The hosts were friendly, helpful, and made you feel right at home and welcome. The establishment was clean and was decorated with such unique and beautiful Edwardian decor.
The hotel is in the perfect location. Just minutes from walking to the movies, shops, cafes, and the markets. The room we stayed in was grand! Large windows that let in the fresh light, gorgeous decor, a comfy bed and lounge- perfect for relaxing and reading. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone traveling to Hobart! My husband and I are already planning out next trip to the Manor.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This establishment is by far the best hotel in Hobart! The owners greet you at the door and are very hospitable. The rooms are tastefully decorated and are as clean as can be. The Maquarie Suites would be above any honeymoon Suite and the single rooms are like the penthouse anywhere else. Would not recommend any other place in Hobart.....and I have stayed
At many of them.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodman4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I expected better and am sorry I didn't stay at the Lenna or Grand Chancellor. Web site is not a true reflection of what you get. Its not value for money. Our room ran off a hallway which meant the windows faced the hallway which made the room dark and the decor didn't help. You are better off staying closer to where the action is. However I understand its under new management and things might improve.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freedom3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 km away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.5 km away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 km away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#17 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.8 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Manor

Property: Macquarie Manor
Address: 172 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price range (per night): $129 - $250
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macquarie Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the middle of Hobart City. Walking distance to major tourist city attractions. Limited Parking is available at $15.00 per day on a first in, first served basis. The guest lounge , bar and breakfast restaurant is very contemporary in design and the room rates are designed for the budget traveller. Rooms are large, air conditioned with modern bathrooms. Check in is between the hours of 2pm and 7pm. Check out is 10am Luggage storage is available for $5.00 per day. A continental breakfast is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macquarie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Macquarie Manor Hotel Hobart
Quality Macquarie Manor Hobart
Quality Inn Hobart
Macquarie Manor Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing