We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macquarie Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macquarie Manor
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

6 months before we stayed at the Macquarie Manor it was a Quality Inn chain. An independant owner took the hotel over just 2 months before we stayed. The Quality Inn offered us other accomodations at a much less desirable establishment. We called the Manor direct and the new owners not only maintained our previous reduced rate, they upgraded us to the 2 front suites in the hotel - absolutely fabulous.

Our suite had 16' ceilings and were appointed with lovely furnishings in the sitting and bed areas.

We highly recommend this hotel for quality, location (1 block walk to Habour, Salmanaca Market every Saturday, and an easy drive to the Port Arthur penal colony).

Pros:
- room opulence
- flat screen TV with several channels
- writing desk
- free wi-fi
- coffee service
- on-site quality breakfast for purchase

Cons: Very hard to find or identify anything
- car parking takes a bit of jockeying (just remember to give your keys to the desk person)
- milk & coffee not replenished daily
- regulating the water temperature in the shower was a bit tricky.

Room Tip: Ask for the front suites - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    76
    56
    31
    13
See reviews for
14
146
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The staff here are super-friendly and helpful, but there is something about being in a room without a window for 3 days (an upgrade apparently) that has put me off. Great location, however.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyB_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We have just spent 3 great nights here with 3 other couples to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. The property has been tastefully restored but has few quirkly issues unlike other heritage listed properties. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and although at the front on busy macquarie street was well insulated and quiet. Nothing was too much trouble for Tony and Tracey and their son was so helpful when we checked in. Location is ideal for dinners at Drunken Admiral and Ball and Chain and a leisurely stroll through Salamanca Markets

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a week at the Macquarie Manor (October 2011) which is located 5 mins walk from Salamanca, great restaurants, Saturday Mkt - a lovely walk through the beautiful St. David's Park, close to the wharf, city and hire car offices. Our room was lovely and warm, cleaned daily, breakfast was great, Tony & Tracey were excellent hosts who greeted everyone with a warm welcome - thank you so much for your hospitality we can't wait to go back - Jenny & Craig (Melbourne)

Room Tip: Hotel is on a main road so suggest choosing a back room if noise is a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have stayed at the Macquarie Manor on several occasions over the years and have always been more than satisfied with the accommodations and the service.

The location is conveniently CBD and we are always there to do business and so are able to park the car and leave it while we follow up on our appointments. On our most recent stay we were delighted with the care and hospitality given to us by the new owners. The Hotel was busy and this resulted in us being upgraded to a Macquarie Suite. We have not stayed in the Macquarie Suites before and we were pleasantly surprised with how big and enjoyable the suite is. We have tried other hotels in town over the years but feel like the Manor is home. We like the quiet, private and exclusive aspect of the Hotel and we were particularly impressed with the service given to us on our recent trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 km away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#20 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 km away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.3 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Travelodge Hobart
Travelodge Hobart
#24 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.2 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.4 km away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#17 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Manor

Property: Macquarie Manor
Address: 172 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price range (per night): $132 - $248
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macquarie Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the middle of Hobart City. Walking distance to major tourist city attractions. Limited Parking is available at $15.00 per day on a first in, first served basis. The guest lounge , bar and breakfast restaurant is very contemporary in design and the room rates are designed for the budget traveller. Rooms are large, air conditioned with modern bathrooms. Check in is between the hours of 2pm and 7pm. Check out is 10am Luggage storage is available for $5.00 per day. A continental breakfast is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Macquarie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Macquarie Manor Hotel Hobart
Quality Macquarie Manor Hobart
Quality Inn Hobart
Macquarie Manor Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing