We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$151
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
AU$151
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$129
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Brian D
Gold Coast, Australia

Worst experience ever

Review of Wrest Point
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2024
Booked in to Wrest point Hobart for a 2-night stay. Paid $700 up front only to find out on arrival that there were no rooms available. We showed our confirmation email, and the counter staff couldn’t explain it. Then a supervisor approached us, apologizing and saying that there wre no rooms and it was a mistake, and that he couldn’t arrange a refund as it was a “Third Party” web page and it should not have allowed us to book a room, even though it was the Wrest point website, and just brushed us off. Seems to me that if you are going to let a third-party take a booking for you, you need to be responsible for it. Never again “Not so” Wrest point and still no refund.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive Assistant, Owner at Wrest Point, responded to this review
Responded 4 Mar 2024
M3110ABbriand our Rooms Division Manager is in contact with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$202
  • Agoda.com
    AU$196
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
2.4 km from Wrest Point
Pool
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
Booking.com
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$88
  • Hotels.com
    AU$129
1.4 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Movenpick
    AU$203
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$186
  • Expedia.com
    AU$203
2.3 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Travelodge.com.au
    AU$110
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$139
2.1 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$147
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
2.5 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$145
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
2.1 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$241
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$237
  • Expedia.com
    AU$270
2.2 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$208
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
1.6 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Wrest Point
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (2,639)
Filter reviews
2,640 results
Traveller rating
1,226
823
373
130
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,226
823
373
130
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving restaurant tower room derwent river sandy bay mountain view room service buffet breakfast great room free parking car park battery point accommodation tasmania harbour conference mt cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 2,640 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Lovely stay with friendly and helpful staff. Elevator was being serviced and only one operational, was very inconvenient with lengthy waits. Room service was fast. Room clean. Best mattress to sleep on, great pillow options

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wilsondm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive Assistant, Owner at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you for your 4 star rating and for providing feedback. Unfortunately, we have had a non-operational elevator that was out of our control. You will be happy to hear that it is now up and running with both lifts are again servicing the Tower. Thank you for your patience with this matter during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024

My king room was perfect - the quality of the bedding was luxurious. The towels were great too.
Everything was clean and perfect. I had wonderful a view of both mountain and water.
Loved the room. Loved the view. Loved the service.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 8e8mcu8g6e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive Assistant, Owner at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased to hear that your King room was perfect and that your experience at Wrest Point was enjoyable and luxurious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

When you book this place be very careful as you might not get what you pay for. The room you see is not what you think it's completely the opposite. Especially if you book thru a 3 party and when you complain the the answer is talk to the 3 party, and when you ask for room cleaning, well it's a maybe if they want to do it. I will never book here again so be aware of what you book you may get a big surprise.

Room tip: Even if you book early like 10 months before you leave check with hotel to see what room is ready.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JOE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive Assistant, Owner at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Hi Joe, thank you for your feedback. It is best to book through our website as third party platforms are responsible for the presentation of their information. We are sorry to hear that the room you wanted was not what you received through the third party. If service of your room is required, all that we ask is that you display the required door hanger on the outside of your door when needed. This allows for us to be more environmentally friendly and provide this service as needed. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Possibly a bit remote from Hobart city but the busses worked fine as did Uber (about $10.50). We were in room 308 which was a great location though the air condition was lacking & could not be lowered, one day the temperature rose to over 30C.
The breakfast was fine though repetitive by day 5. An absolutely huge site with lots of space. One of the main elevators was under repair & wait times were up to three minutes.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kevinY1009CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive Assistant, Owner at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you for your 4 star rating and for taking the time provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that the air conditioner was not working as it should have been and we will inspect the unit to ensure that the temperature control is working correctly. One of our elevators has unfortunately been out of action and beyond our control. We have been furiously working on the repairs and can confirm that both elevators are now fully operational. Thank you for your patience with this mater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Great Location and great room and service. Cannot fault the place and we really enjoyed our stay here for 4 nights. The gym pool and spa were excellent at no extra cost and all the staff were friendly and helpful,
Definitely come back and stay again.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chq6hoetfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Executive Assistant, Owner at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Thank you chq6hoetfy for taking the time to provide feedback and leaving a 5 star rating. We are so glad that your 4 night stay was most enjoyable and relaxing. Thank you for choosing Wrest Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews