We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
AU$310
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Priceline
AU$310
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Claudia P

Fantastic holiday from start to finish

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2024
We stayed at the Tasman for our 40th Wedding anniversary. From the friendly and accommodating staff when we arrived to the beautiful room we stayed in it was just perfection. Complimentary breakfast each day at Peppina’s was first class and the staff in attendance very efficient- special mention to Gurpreet who astounded us by remembering our specifics of ordering previous days. Knowledgeable and accomodating- highly recommend staying here. Close to all attractions and all within walking distance from the Harbour. Love love love
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$209
  • Agoda.com
    AU$196
  • Vio.com
    AU$202
0.5 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Hotels.com
    AU$241
0.3 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$270
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$220
  • Priceline
    AU$245
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$176
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$147
  • Priceline
    AU$160
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$193
  • Movenpick
    AU$203
0.2 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge.com.au
AU$110
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$139
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    AU$139
0.3 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$148
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$220
  • Agoda.com
    AU$174
  • Priceline
    AU$220
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$151
  • Agoda.com
    AU$129
  • Priceline
    AU$137
2.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Blue Hills Motel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$91
  • Agoda.com
    AU$79
  • Priceline
    AU$88
0.8 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
126
13
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
126
13
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary mary heritage room absolutely stunning hotel hotel exceeds parliament square wonderful friendly service luxurious touches star hotels around the world gas fireplace night light the nicest hotels valet parking water view memorable stay hotel experience king room corner suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Staying with an extremely large group booking, the checkin process was simpler than I have experienced. The decor and the vibe of the whole hotel was incredible, the rooms spacious and modern. The complete black out curtains were so handy for the early morning easterly sunrise.
April was oh so helpful. After a late arrival one evening, she made it so that I was able to order food off the in room dining menu, but eat it in the communal lounge. Her assistance throughout the stay was that of high quality and she epitomises what it the hotel is trying to encapsulate regarding luxury.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

This was by far once the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. From the welcome from the staff (and the welcome drink) to the room service to the room itself everything was top notch. Although housed in a heritage listed building room is very technologically advanced. Every time you walk in the door curtains and shades automatically open. Location is great to very close the harbour and Salamanca market as well as Hobart CBD.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rrobstet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, very modern and rooms are nice. We got in late and walked in our room which was a pavilion king that we booked and it was a nice room but had a strong musty smell. It was close to midnight and don’t want to make a fuss so just went to sleep. Next day came back after cleaning and the smell was still there, so asked to be switched to another room if it was available. They obliged which was very nice of them. But our original room had a bath tub which we wanted to use and new room did not. Thought that at least when you switch rooms it would be for another one of the same. Called to see if they can find one that was had the same amenities as the one we paid for. They called back said no and that was that. Looked it up and the room we were switched to was a lower tier room than the one we paid for even though higher tier rooms were available. So the original room smelled and new room is one that cost less than what we paid for?? No partial refund, no offer of some points. Basically if you complain you’ll get a worse room than the one you paid for. Also we’ve been staying primarily with marriot for a decade, titanium members and this is how they do things. This is why we are staying at marriot properties less.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Scenic57426163871
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Morahan, General Manager at The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Scenic57426163871,

While your review is very disappointing to read, thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable feedback. We are very sorry for the issues you experienced in your original allocated room, and we will investigate thoroughly to determine what has caused the issue. Unfortunately, we do not have bathtubs in all rooms, or across all room categories.

I am sorry we were not able to find you another room with a bathtub. We do only have 3 rooms of the same room type you were originally allocated with bathtubs and due to being at capacity we were not able to move you to one of those as they were already accommodating guests.

The room you switched to, despite not having a bathtub, was still the same room type and tier as your original room. Rest assured, whenever possible and occupancy permits, we always look to provide the same or higher room types for guests that have experienced issues, however, on this occasion the hotel was at full occupancy leaving us with the only option being to relocate you to the same room type.

Dear Scenic57426163871, once again I am very sorry you have not enjoyed your experience with us at The Tasman and I would hope that you would provide us with another opportunity in the future to restore your faith in our wonderful service and beautiful hotel.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

We stayed here overnight as part of cruise from Hobart to Freo the following day. Everything was great, including the staff, the service, the bar, the room, and the meals. The room was very comfortable. Would love to stay here again, but it was a bit pricy even though we didn't pay for the room.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robertmE4936MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2024

We spent three nights here at the end of a two week trip to Tasmania. Great location especially for Salamanca markets on Saturday morning.
The room was in the deco section and nicely appointed with great attention to detail.Good pillow selection but we had to ask for blankets for the bed as the heater doona and underlay on the bed were too hot. Lovely toiletries and good lighting especially for reading in bed.
The view was quite good but the windows do not open so you are reliant on A/C.
The staff are friendly and efficient - we arrived early but left our bags there and they called us when the room was ready. However, rooms not serviced until 1 or 2pm.
Overall very good hotel which we would book again.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews