We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rrobstet
Seminole, Florida

Best Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2024
This was by far once the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. From the welcome from the staff (and the welcome drink) to the room service to the room itself everything was top notch. Although housed in a heritage listed building room is very technologically advanced. Every time you walk in the door curtains and shades automatically open. Location is great to very close the harbour and Salamanca market as well as Hobart CBD.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
  • Priceline
    AU$209
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
0.5 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
AU$265
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$300
  • Agoda.com
    AU$244
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$200
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$200
  • Agoda.com
    AU$173
  • Priceline
    AU$182
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • VibeHotels.com
    AU$170
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
0.4 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$153
  • Priceline
    AU$169
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$168
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Priceline
2.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$170
  • Priceline
    AU$185
0.2 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
  • Hotels.com
    AU$129
1.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$121
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$131
0.1 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$145
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
0.4 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
127
13
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
127
13
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary mary heritage room absolutely stunning hotel hotel exceeds parliament square wonderful friendly service luxurious touches star hotels around the world gas fireplace night light the nicest hotels valet parking water view memorable stay hotel experience king room corner suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, very modern and rooms are nice. We got in late and walked in our room which was a pavilion king that we booked and it was a nice room but had a strong musty smell. It was close to midnight and don’t want to make a fuss so just went to sleep. Next day came back after cleaning and the smell was still there, so asked to be switched to another room if it was available. They obliged which was very nice of them. But our original room had a bath tub which we wanted to use and new room did not. Thought that at least when you switch rooms it would be for another one of the same. Called to see if they can find one that was had the same amenities as the one we paid for. They called back said no and that was that. Looked it up and the room we were switched to was a lower tier room than the one we paid for even though higher tier rooms were available. So the original room smelled and new room is one that cost less than what we paid for?? No partial refund, no offer of some points. Basically if you complain you’ll get a worse room than the one you paid for. Also we’ve been staying primarily with marriot for a decade, titanium members and this is how they do things. This is why we are staying at marriot properties less.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Scenic57426163871
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Morahan, General Manager at The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Scenic57426163871,

While your review is very disappointing to read, thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable feedback. We are very sorry for the issues you experienced in your original allocated room, and we will investigate thoroughly to determine what has caused the issue. Unfortunately, we do not have bathtubs in all rooms, or across all room categories.

I am sorry we were not able to find you another room with a bathtub. We do only have 3 rooms of the same room type you were originally allocated with bathtubs and due to being at capacity we were not able to move you to one of those as they were already accommodating guests.

The room you switched to, despite not having a bathtub, was still the same room type and tier as your original room. Rest assured, whenever possible and occupancy permits, we always look to provide the same or higher room types for guests that have experienced issues, however, on this occasion the hotel was at full occupancy leaving us with the only option being to relocate you to the same room type.

Dear Scenic57426163871, once again I am very sorry you have not enjoyed your experience with us at The Tasman and I would hope that you would provide us with another opportunity in the future to restore your faith in our wonderful service and beautiful hotel.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

We stayed here overnight as part of cruise from Hobart to Freo the following day. Everything was great, including the staff, the service, the bar, the room, and the meals. The room was very comfortable. Would love to stay here again, but it was a bit pricy even though we didn't pay for the room.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robertmE4936MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2024

We spent three nights here at the end of a two week trip to Tasmania. Great location especially for Salamanca markets on Saturday morning.
The room was in the deco section and nicely appointed with great attention to detail.Good pillow selection but we had to ask for blankets for the bed as the heater doona and underlay on the bed were too hot. Lovely toiletries and good lighting especially for reading in bed.
The view was quite good but the windows do not open so you are reliant on A/C.
The staff are friendly and efficient - we arrived early but left our bags there and they called us when the room was ready. However, rooms not serviced until 1 or 2pm.
Overall very good hotel which we would book again.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is situated in a fabulous position- walking distance to almost everything you need to see in Hobart.
However you do have to pay for car parking, but that valet service is excellent and your car is ready when you are. All staff are remarkably friendly.
Mary Mary is an excellent cocktail bar on premises as is their restaurant Peppina.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank roslyno300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

The hotel is well located. It is very near to the pier and also to the city center. The hotel has beautiful design combining the heritage building with very modern feel.

The friendly front desk staff processed the check in very efficiently and explain all the hotel facilities in detail. The Heritage Suite I stayed in was excellent with separate living room and bedroom. The high ceiling add to make the room feel more spacious. The bathroom is stocked with many amenities and always refilled everyday by the housekeeping staff.

Breakfast served in this hotel offers quite a variety of choices and all are very good quality. But there is no rotation in the menu at all so after few days it could get boring.

The dinner at Peppina and light lunch I tried at the Deco Lounge are excellent with great food and service.

Overall it was a really pleasant hotel to stay in Hobart and I would definitely return in the future

Room tip: Very Good Location
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TSumitomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews