We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
LuxuryCollection
AU$365
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Roslyn O
Melbourne, Australia
Position position
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Feb 2024via mobile
This beautiful hotel is situated in a fabulous position- walking distance to almost everything you need to see in Hobart.
However you do have to pay for car parking, but that valet service is excellent and your car is ready when you are. All staff are remarkably friendly.
Mary Mary is an excellent cocktail bar on premises as is their restaurant Peppina.
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$259
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$194
  • Movenpick
    AU$203
0.2 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$447
  • Expedia.com
    AU$469
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$219
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HIGH RES Room bedroom bath and tulips
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$271
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$175
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
124
12
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
124
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary mary heritage room absolutely stunning hotel hotel exceeds parliament square wonderful friendly service luxurious touches star hotels around the world gas fireplace night light the nicest hotels valet parking water view memorable stay hotel experience king room corner suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2024

The hotel is well located. It is very near to the pier and also to the city center. The hotel has beautiful design combining the heritage building with very modern feel.

The friendly front desk staff processed the check in very efficiently and explain all the hotel facilities in detail. The Heritage Suite I stayed in was excellent with separate living room and bedroom. The high ceiling add to make the room feel more spacious. The bathroom is stocked with many amenities and always refilled everyday by the housekeeping staff.

Breakfast served in this hotel offers quite a variety of choices and all are very good quality. But there is no rotation in the menu at all so after few days it could get boring.

The dinner at Peppina and light lunch I tried at the Deco Lounge are excellent with great food and service.

Overall it was a really pleasant hotel to stay in Hobart and I would definitely return in the future

Room tip: Very Good Location
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TSumitomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

A gorgeous hotel - would absolutely recommend! Everything is so beautifully designed and clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent too, and it operated from 7am-11am which was really helpful. The reception and concierge staff were extremely helpful and kind. It really was the height of luxury!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

This is truly an amazing hotel . We got upgraded to a suite and it was one of the biggest rooms we have ever had . So beautifully appointed throughout from the bedroom to the bathroom. Stunning ! A nice bottle of wine to greet us too which is a nice touch . Also as per all the reviews the breakfast is out of this world ! So much variety it was wonderful!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GillS495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024

We booked this Tasman through the AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts program. Every thing - location, hotel, staff, food, decor, etc. is absolutely perfect.

Perfectly located about a 3 minute walk from the Hobart Harbor, this hotel puts you in the center of all the "action" n Hobart. We were fortune enough to attend the Hobart Farmers market on Saturday.

The hotel is new and perfectly clean. Peppina and Mary Mary are outstanding restaurants at the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by interesting eating places .

Best of all is the Tasman's staff. Each and every person we encountered was professional but most importantly, were cordial and truly friendly. The entire team is the epitome of what hospitality should look like. They are a true benefit to the Marriott brand. BRAVO

My wife and I are already planning our voyage from Phoenix Arizona to beautiful Hobart, Tasmania. We, of course, are staying at the TASMAN

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwedfdtyhgvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024

Celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, we booked The Tasman. They were extremely generous and thoughtful - upgrade, champagne, chocolates, the works. What was also wonderful was the effort the staff made in remembering names and trying to catch your eye to wish you a great day.

As a rule, good Hotels are woefully under-staffed in Australia, but The Tasman is easily the exception.

Our room was sensational, quiet and roomy with views over St Davids Park across the road, We were never more than a 10 minute walk from anywhere we wanted to go to eat or sight-see. Terrific location.

Breakfast was something to look forward to and absolutely sumptuous - even for Vegetarians. We put on a kg in the week we spent there!

Dinner at Peppina's was also a highlight. It is a notable Italian restaurant and ranks as Hobart's best or thereabout.

They have a fantastic cellar. If you are a Wine buff, you will go ga-ga.

Stephen Morahan, the General Manager is absolutely hands on and no detail is too small for him. On the morning of Australia Day (Jan 26th) - a national holiday - my wife and I were shocked to see him at Breakfast. He had donned the restaurant jacket and was serving guests - someone must have called in sick. It was obvious that the staff looked up to him. He is an impressive, professional hotelier who runs a tight and efficient ship, brilliantly.

We would love to go back and refer our family and friends.

Hobart and Tasmania are highly under-rated. We spend about 75 nights a year away from home, usually in Hotels.

But, The Tasman was for us as memorable a break as we can recall and I commend it unreservedly.

Room tip: If you are going to be mainly in Hobart, do not bother renting a car as the Hotel is extremely central
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dhmadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews