We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$335
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Expedia.com
AU$335
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
AU$335
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
124
12
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
124
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary mary heritage room absolutely stunning hotel hotel exceeds parliament square wonderful friendly service luxurious touches star hotels around the world gas fireplace night light the nicest hotels valet parking water view memorable stay hotel experience king room corner suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2024

A gorgeous hotel - would absolutely recommend! Everything is so beautifully designed and clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent too, and it operated from 7am-11am which was really helpful. The reception and concierge staff were extremely helpful and kind. It really was the height of luxury!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

This is truly an amazing hotel . We got upgraded to a suite and it was one of the biggest rooms we have ever had . So beautifully appointed throughout from the bedroom to the bathroom. Stunning ! A nice bottle of wine to greet us too which is a nice touch . Also as per all the reviews the breakfast is out of this world ! So much variety it was wonderful!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GillS495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024

We booked this Tasman through the AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts program. Every thing - location, hotel, staff, food, decor, etc. is absolutely perfect.

Perfectly located about a 3 minute walk from the Hobart Harbor, this hotel puts you in the center of all the "action" n Hobart. We were fortune enough to attend the Hobart Farmers market on Saturday.

The hotel is new and perfectly clean. Peppina and Mary Mary are outstanding restaurants at the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by interesting eating places .

Best of all is the Tasman's staff. Each and every person we encountered was professional but most importantly, were cordial and truly friendly. The entire team is the epitome of what hospitality should look like. They are a true benefit to the Marriott brand. BRAVO

My wife and I are already planning our voyage from Phoenix Arizona to beautiful Hobart, Tasmania. We, of course, are staying at the TASMAN

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwedfdtyhgvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024

Celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, we booked The Tasman. They were extremely generous and thoughtful - upgrade, champagne, chocolates, the works. What was also wonderful was the effort the staff made in remembering names and trying to catch your eye to wish you a great day.

As a rule, good Hotels are woefully under-staffed in Australia, but The Tasman is easily the exception.

Our room was sensational, quiet and roomy with views over St Davids Park across the road, We were never more than a 10 minute walk from anywhere we wanted to go to eat or sight-see. Terrific location.

Breakfast was something to look forward to and absolutely sumptuous - even for Vegetarians. We put on a kg in the week we spent there!

Dinner at Peppina's was also a highlight. It is a notable Italian restaurant and ranks as Hobart's best or thereabout.

They have a fantastic cellar. If you are a Wine buff, you will go ga-ga.

Stephen Morahan, the General Manager is absolutely hands on and no detail is too small for him. On the morning of Australia Day (Jan 26th) - a national holiday - my wife and I were shocked to see him at Breakfast. He had donned the restaurant jacket and was serving guests - someone must have called in sick. It was obvious that the staff looked up to him. He is an impressive, professional hotelier who runs a tight and efficient ship, brilliantly.

We would love to go back and refer our family and friends.

Hobart and Tasmania are highly under-rated. We spend about 75 nights a year away from home, usually in Hotels.

But, The Tasman was for us as memorable a break as we can recall and I commend it unreservedly.

Room tip: If you are going to be mainly in Hobart, do not bother renting a car as the Hotel is extremely central
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dhmadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

We stayed recently in a beautiful King water view suite. The amenities in the room were luxurious. The bed very comfortable. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location is fantastic for a walk along the pier. Sooo many restaurants, bars etc.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WenWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews