We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Booking.com
AU$310
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Expedia.com
AU$310
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
AU$310
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Willy N
San Jose, California

The perfect getaway property

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Feb 2024
We booked this Tasman through the AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts program. Every thing - location, hotel, staff, food, decor, etc. is absolutely perfect.

Perfectly located about a 3 minute walk from the Hobart Harbor, this hotel puts you in the center of all the "action" n Hobart. We were fortune enough to attend the Hobart Farmers market on Saturday.

The hotel is new and perfectly clean. Peppina and Mary Mary are outstanding restaurants at the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by interesting eating places .

Best of all is the Tasman's staff. Each and every person we encountered was professional but most importantly, were cordial and truly friendly. The entire team is the epitome of what hospitality should look like. They are a true benefit to the Marriott brand. BRAVO

My wife and I are already planning our voyage from Phoenix Arizona to beautiful Hobart, Tasmania. We, of course, are staying at the TASMAN
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$199
  • Agoda.com
    AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
0.5 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
  • Hotels.com
    AU$239
  • Priceline
    AU$260
0.3 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$270
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$270
  • Agoda.com
    AU$216
  • Hotels.com
    AU$270
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$176
No prepayment needed
  • The Henry Jones
    AU$176
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
  • Priceline
    AU$160
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$196
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$220
  • Agoda.com
    AU$176
  • Expedia.com
    AU$220
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Movenpick
    AU$203
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$190
  • Priceline
    AU$203
0.2 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge.com.au
AU$123
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$139
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Priceline
    AU$139
0.3 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
  • Priceline
    AU$169
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
Booking.com
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$88
  • Priceline
    AU$98
1.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$151
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$137
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Expedia.com
    AU$151
2.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
127
13
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
127
13
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary mary heritage room absolutely stunning hotel hotel exceeds parliament square wonderful friendly service luxurious touches star hotels around the world gas fireplace night light the nicest hotels valet parking water view memorable stay hotel experience king room corner suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2024

Celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, we booked The Tasman. They were extremely generous and thoughtful - upgrade, champagne, chocolates, the works. What was also wonderful was the effort the staff made in remembering names and trying to catch your eye to wish you a great day.

As a rule, good Hotels are woefully under-staffed in Australia, but The Tasman is easily the exception.

Our room was sensational, quiet and roomy with views over St Davids Park across the road, We were never more than a 10 minute walk from anywhere we wanted to go to eat or sight-see. Terrific location.

Breakfast was something to look forward to and absolutely sumptuous - even for Vegetarians. We put on a kg in the week we spent there!

Dinner at Peppina's was also a highlight. It is a notable Italian restaurant and ranks as Hobart's best or thereabout.

They have a fantastic cellar. If you are a Wine buff, you will go ga-ga.

Stephen Morahan, the General Manager is absolutely hands on and no detail is too small for him. On the morning of Australia Day (Jan 26th) - a national holiday - my wife and I were shocked to see him at Breakfast. He had donned the restaurant jacket and was serving guests - someone must have called in sick. It was obvious that the staff looked up to him. He is an impressive, professional hotelier who runs a tight and efficient ship, brilliantly.

We would love to go back and refer our family and friends.

Hobart and Tasmania are highly under-rated. We spend about 75 nights a year away from home, usually in Hotels.

But, The Tasman was for us as memorable a break as we can recall and I commend it unreservedly.

Room tip: If you are going to be mainly in Hobart, do not bother renting a car as the Hotel is extremely central
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dhmadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

We stayed recently in a beautiful King water view suite. The amenities in the room were luxurious. The bed very comfortable. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location is fantastic for a walk along the pier. Sooo many restaurants, bars etc.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WenWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

The most beautifully appointed hotel, the architecture has respected the heritage of this building so well.
The staff here are 100% amazing! And couldn’t be more helpful and accommodating!
This is by far the best place we have ever stayed!
We are definitely returning!

Room tip: If need any assistance please don’t hesitate to ask the staff who are very professional and obliging!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2023

What a great, first class hotel! Service was excellent from arrival to departure. The room was nicely appointed with automated shades and lights. Great amenities and AMAZING shower!

Location was great too, steps away from the harbor with shops and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Tasmania!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2023

I stayed two nights at this hotel from Japan via Sydney.

Unfortunately, I was not able to check in early, but instead was upgraded to a large Heritage room. .

Amex Platinum holders should book through Amex as they offer USD100 vouchers, upgrades, late checkout, and other benefits for reservations made through Amex.

The hotel is a bit of a complex building.
I don't know about the newer towers, but the Heritage I stayed in has very high ceilings and is very spacious, but in exchange the windows are very small, so the rooms are dark and there is no view.

The concierge staff was very courteous and delivered the soap to my room when I told them I liked it and wanted to purchase some.

The linens in the room are perfect, the bed is perfect, and the bathroom is perfectly clean. Turn down service is available.
Slippers are available upon request.

Breakfast is varied and has a satisfying lineup for Japanese travelers. Eggs are prepared in a variety of styles.

I hope to stay there again soon.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Venture03412019336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews