We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
leisuretrv
Sydney, Australia

The best hotel in Australia: rooms, facilities, restaurants and customer service.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2023via mobile
I recently flew to Hobart, for the markets and Mona but the main motivation was to stay at The Tasman hotel.

By far, this is the best hotel I’ve stayed at, in Australia.

PROS
- This isn’t a stock standard, bland, cookie cutter hotel. This is a unique property with heritage features retained including fireplaces in heritage rooms. A mix of modern and respect for the past.
- Excellent customer service from front office to restaurant to housekeeping. As an example, I opted to sit outside to eat and the staff proactively turned on the heaters for me.
- Fast internet.
- Excellent location, next to Salamanca Markets if you’re there on a Saturday. Easy walk to the pier, park, other attractions.
- Grown Alchemist amenities.
- Peppinas has amazing food!!! Was packed on a Thursday night, reflecting its popularity with locals and tourists. Deco Lounge is the more casual day-time food outlet which is great too.

CONS
- I wish the Heritage rooms had more sunlight or its windows could open, as they do get dark even during the day. That said, not a negative, as there are also light-filled panoramic rooms.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$216
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$365
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$194
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$224
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Movenpick
    AU$195
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$177
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge.com.au
AU$123
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$129
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$155
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Algotels
1.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$150
  • Algotels
2.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$147
  • ibis Styles
    AU$155
0.4 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
127
13
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
127
13
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary mary heritage room absolutely stunning hotel hotel exceeds parliament square wonderful friendly service luxurious touches star hotels around the world gas fireplace night light the nicest hotels valet parking water view memorable stay hotel experience king room corner suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2023 via mobile

Our stay at the Tasman was delightful from check in arrival through to check out. We arrived early on the Sunday morning and were greeted by Nick the concierge who looked after our luggage as it was too soon for our rooms to be ready. Nick and the other Concierge Julian looked after us really well during our stay, giving us recommendations, providing us with umbrellas when it was raining, and helping us sort out some laundry that needed to be urgently done.

At the reception we were served an arrival drink as we checked in which was nice. The reception advised us that she would try to get our room ready earlier and gave us some great advice in terms of local attractions to check out such as the Farmer's market. We then went out exploring Hobart.

We were contacted just after midday to be advised that our room was ready for us. We then went back to the hotel to freshen up and our room was wonderful. We had a gorgeous view over the harbour, our room was spotlessly clean and the auto opening blind and curtains was a nice touch. Bathroom was well appointed with quality toiletries and the touch pad interface to operate the lights was nice.

We had a daily breakfast at Peppina's restaurant and during week days it was all you can eat ala carte. We loved the personalised service that we received where our hosts Gurpreet and Leticia were exceptional. They had memorised our drink preferences so each morning when we walked in they would prepare and bring our coffee and drink orders over, followed by a fruit platter to cleanse our palate before we would order our breakfast. There were so many choices and you could add unlimited sides, included smoked ocean trout, grilled Portabello mushrooms, polenta chips, etc. We actually preferred this to the weekend breakfast buffet as our meals were brought straight to our table. It should be noted though that the breakfast buffet has a wonderful spread of breakfast options and more variety than the weekday ala carte option so either way we were happy.

We also spent a few nights in the Mary Mary Bar where we enjoyed the wonderful and personable customer service of Andrew, Deep and Thomas. Over the 3 night that we spent in the bar we enjoyed expertly prepared cocktails and a wonderful selection of bar snacks. Stand outs were the Hot Toddy cocktail which was a Winter special and the Lemon Meringue Sorbet dessert. The dessert was so good that one night when my wife was too tired to come down to Mary Mary for the dessert I went to the bar, ordered two servings and brought it back up to our room.

We checked out the gym while we were there and it was well equipped with a variety of free weights (kettle bells) and machines. There were neatly stacked fresh towels and a fridge well stocked with bottled water. Really well laid out and thoughtful.

We only ordered a coffee from the Deco Lounge but we did see that they had an amazing high tea on offer as a number of other guests had ordered it. The lounge had very comfortable seats and a lovely outdoor courtyard area.

Location wise, the hotel is perfectly placed. You can access all of the marinas in the harbour, Salamanca Place and the CBD within a short 2-5 minute walk. In fact, if you exit the hotel from the back entrance (near the Mary Mary bar) on a Saturday morning you literally are at the start of one end of the famous Salamanca Market.

Thank you to the staff at the Tasman for such a wonderful stay. Your service and facilities are absolutely top notch. We will be back.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2023

From the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty. My friend and I were giggling wondering if were being mistaken for someone famous.
We took advantage of a winter promotion which was a good way for us to check out this venue with a few luxury treats thrown in.
We live in Hobart but decided to holiday in our own home city. I was so pleased we did. The staff all made eye contact and were friendly and smiled whenever they saw us which was very welcoming.
We enjoyed a cocktail in the atmospheric Mary Mary and from there went to Peppina for dinner. Peppina lived up to all the excellent things we'd heard about it. We also enjoyed a relaxing and tasty breakfast there before checking out.
Our room was classily decorated and well appointed. The pillows were some of the most comfortable I've slept on.
I loved experiencing hospitality as good as, or even better , than what I've experienced at equivalent accommodation interstate and overseas.
Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank M7383DWsallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2023

We loved this hotel. Sadly, we were there for just one night. The lobby, the hallways, the interesting construction, our cool room and amazingly decked out beds - its the whole package! We stayed at the beginning of our trip at a different hotel bc the Tasman was full and now we know why! Peppina - the restaurant at the hotel, so good too! The only drawback that it is 10,000 miles away from me - I am coming back to TAS to stay here! Thank you for a wonderful end of our trip!

Room tip: Stay as long as you can!
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023

We stayed with a group of friends at The Tasman for 5 nights recently. Terrific location right near Salamanca Markets by the water. This is the second visit to this wonderful property, the ambience, the attention to detail and the food, beverage and service at Peppina Restaurant and Mary Mary the bar is outstanding. Make sure to book as these venues fill up fast. The staff really went out of their way to make every day special and we did not want to leave. One of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere globally. Highly recommend. Wayne

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

Highly recommend The Tasman. The location is walking distance to the shops in the CBD, the wharf and Salamanca Place. There is no shortage of good restaurants nearby.

The hotel manager was very attentive to guests. He introduced himself and asked about my day trip to Bruny Island. When I told him my wife was sore from the walking, the next morning he ran into us and asked her how she was doing. It made us feel that he was listening.

Breakfast is an A+ for a buffet. Something for everyone. It is fresh and hot. Eggs are made to order. We were seated on our first day and ordered both still and gas water. For the next three mornings, our table was set in the same location with water on the table. Everyone knew our name and even how we ordered eggs the day before.

April and James at the Concierge made our stay worthwhile. They put together a personalized itinerary taking into account my wife's back problem. We used the roomy Audi that is available. April was our driver and guide. Best decision we made for the all day trip to Bruny Island.

If you are looking for personalized service, look no further. Employees go out of their way to make sure your needs are met.

The Heritage rooms are a bit bigger but since the hotel had to preserve the building architecture, our room did not really have a view when we sat. The next day we asked and were moved to a room in the newer wing that had a spacious view overlooking the wharf and the water. And the sunrise.

Many Marriott Bonvoy members wonder what benefits are available. We are Ambassador and were delighted with the complimentary breakfast and room upgrade.

Room tip: Get a room with a view of the wharf and water.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews