We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jennifer M
New York City, New York

WE LOVE THIS PLACE! Can't wait to come back!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2023
We loved this hotel. Sadly, we were there for just one night. The lobby, the hallways, the interesting construction, our cool room and amazingly decked out beds - its the whole package! We stayed at the beginning of our trip at a different hotel bc the Tasman was full and now we know why! Peppina - the restaurant at the hotel, so good too! The only drawback that it is 10,000 miles away from me - I am coming back to TAS to stay here! Thank you for a wonderful end of our trip!
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Stay as long as you can!
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
0.5 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
AU$252
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
  • Agoda.com
    AU$229
  • Hotels.com
    AU$300
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$200
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$200
  • Agoda.com
    AU$171
  • Vio.com
    AU$200
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Priceline
    AU$175
0.4 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$209
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$212
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
  • Priceline
    AU$234
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$185
  • Movenpick
    AU$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$181
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
0.2 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$103
  • Hotels.com
    AU$129
1.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • Agoda.com
    AU$146
  • Priceline
    AU$163
2.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$145
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
0.4 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
128
13
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
128
13
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary mary heritage room absolutely stunning hotel hotel exceeds parliament square wonderful friendly service luxurious touches star hotels around the world gas fireplace night light the nicest hotels valet parking water view memorable stay hotel experience king room corner suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2023

We stayed with a group of friends at The Tasman for 5 nights recently. Terrific location right near Salamanca Markets by the water. This is the second visit to this wonderful property, the ambience, the attention to detail and the food, beverage and service at Peppina Restaurant and Mary Mary the bar is outstanding. Make sure to book as these venues fill up fast. The staff really went out of their way to make every day special and we did not want to leave. One of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere globally. Highly recommend. Wayne

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

Highly recommend The Tasman. The location is walking distance to the shops in the CBD, the wharf and Salamanca Place. There is no shortage of good restaurants nearby.

The hotel manager was very attentive to guests. He introduced himself and asked about my day trip to Bruny Island. When I told him my wife was sore from the walking, the next morning he ran into us and asked her how she was doing. It made us feel that he was listening.

Breakfast is an A+ for a buffet. Something for everyone. It is fresh and hot. Eggs are made to order. We were seated on our first day and ordered both still and gas water. For the next three mornings, our table was set in the same location with water on the table. Everyone knew our name and even how we ordered eggs the day before.

April and James at the Concierge made our stay worthwhile. They put together a personalized itinerary taking into account my wife's back problem. We used the roomy Audi that is available. April was our driver and guide. Best decision we made for the all day trip to Bruny Island.

If you are looking for personalized service, look no further. Employees go out of their way to make sure your needs are met.

The Heritage rooms are a bit bigger but since the hotel had to preserve the building architecture, our room did not really have a view when we sat. The next day we asked and were moved to a room in the newer wing that had a spacious view overlooking the wharf and the water. And the sunrise.

Many Marriott Bonvoy members wonder what benefits are available. We are Ambassador and were delighted with the complimentary breakfast and room upgrade.

Room tip: Get a room with a view of the wharf and water.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2023 via mobile

Best hotel in Hobart. Exceeded all expectations. Staff were all amazing - very polite, friendly and helpful. Check in experience was brilliant. I was in the Art deco side - amazing decor. Modern technology for the light switches all round luxury.
Wish I could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank lorrained170
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2023

A great stay at this lovely hotel which exceeded expectations. The room was great with beautiful Grown Alchemist toiletries and also some amazing local Tasmania soap and bath soak. Check-in could be improved as they didn’t notify me when my room was ready despite telling me that they would, and didn’t bother to explain the inclusions that were available to me with my booking.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank HighMaintenance2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2023

I recently visited this hotel for a few days on a mother daughter get-a-way. We have both been to some fabulous places over the years and expect good service accordingly, and this place did not disappoint. EVERY staff member we encountered greeted us with a smile and almost all of them went that extra step to make sure we were happy and looked after. A special shout out to Nan, April, Justin, Ray, and Stevie.

The hotel is unassuming yet elegant and located a short walk from the harbour. It has the feeling of a bit Napa Valley California and Tuscany...There are cafes and eateries within walking distance as are the ferries to Mona, Bruny, etc. The markets are also a short walk from the hotel.

The room we had (Grand Heritage King) was spacious and comfy and the bed and bedding all you would expect from a Bonvoy. The lighting and blinds/curtains were all electronic but no need for a PhD to operate as in some places. It was quiet and actually felt like you were in a room in someone's home. We had a tub and the bath salts they provided were exceptional quality and enough to fuel a few baths - unlike a few other places we have been recently.

We loved the coffee and ambiance in the eatery just inside reception (great strong roast) and also enjoyed the buffet breakfast at Peppina's. The only suggestion I would make here is to vary the offerings a bit as 3 days of it got a little boring. The evening meal at Peppina's was also wonderful and my suggestion here would be to add a few more vegetarian options.

If you like character and class this place with its understated luxury is for you... but do note that they do not have a spa. There is a gym that is sufficiently appointed and you will undoubtedly do a lot of walking but no spa/pool. There are a few located nearby which the concierge can suggest.

Next time we are in Hobart we will be returning to this hotel without a doubt.

Room tip: Grab a room in the Heritage building
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alisummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews