We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
HighMaintenance2015
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Exceeded expectations

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 July 2023
A great stay at this lovely hotel which exceeded expectations. The room was great with beautiful Grown Alchemist toiletries and also some amazing local Tasmania soap and bath soak. Check-in could be improved as they didn’t notify me when my room was ready despite telling me that they would, and didn’t bother to explain the inclusions that were available to me with my booking.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$199
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$199
0.5 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$232
  • Priceline
    AU$273
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$196
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$172
  • Priceline
    AU$190
0.2 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • VibeHotels.com
    AU$178
0.4 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$139
  • Algotels
0.1 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$102
  • Algotels
1.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$156
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Algotels
2.0 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Priceline
    AU$145
0.4 km from The Tasman, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
127
13
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
127
13
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary mary heritage room absolutely stunning hotel hotel exceeds parliament square wonderful friendly service luxurious touches star hotels around the world gas fireplace night light the nicest hotels valet parking water view memorable stay hotel experience king room corner suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2023

I recently visited this hotel for a few days on a mother daughter get-a-way. We have both been to some fabulous places over the years and expect good service accordingly, and this place did not disappoint. EVERY staff member we encountered greeted us with a smile and almost all of them went that extra step to make sure we were happy and looked after. A special shout out to Nan, April, Justin, Ray, and Stevie.

The hotel is unassuming yet elegant and located a short walk from the harbour. It has the feeling of a bit Napa Valley California and Tuscany...There are cafes and eateries within walking distance as are the ferries to Mona, Bruny, etc. The markets are also a short walk from the hotel.

The room we had (Grand Heritage King) was spacious and comfy and the bed and bedding all you would expect from a Bonvoy. The lighting and blinds/curtains were all electronic but no need for a PhD to operate as in some places. It was quiet and actually felt like you were in a room in someone's home. We had a tub and the bath salts they provided were exceptional quality and enough to fuel a few baths - unlike a few other places we have been recently.

We loved the coffee and ambiance in the eatery just inside reception (great strong roast) and also enjoyed the buffet breakfast at Peppina's. The only suggestion I would make here is to vary the offerings a bit as 3 days of it got a little boring. The evening meal at Peppina's was also wonderful and my suggestion here would be to add a few more vegetarian options.

If you like character and class this place with its understated luxury is for you... but do note that they do not have a spa. There is a gym that is sufficiently appointed and you will undoubtedly do a lot of walking but no spa/pool. There are a few located nearby which the concierge can suggest.

Next time we are in Hobart we will be returning to this hotel without a doubt.

Room tip: Grab a room in the Heritage building
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alisummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2023 via mobile

My kids and I absolutely love this hotel. Not only is it beautiful, but the staff are very accommodating and helpful. It is in a good location for walking around town and we were extremely impressed by the room. It had vaulted ceilings and was very spacious. The breakfast is also very good. We wish we would’ve stayed more days in Hobart because it’s such a beautiful town but also because we loved this hotel so much. I can’t recommend it enough and I stay at a lot of places!!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2023 via mobile

Along with Macq01, simply the best place to stay for a holiday in Hobart. The location is on the doorstep of Salamanca, the staff amazing, the rooms luxurious. Mary Mary and Peppina are well worth a visit too. They even recognised my Bonvoy status with a bottle of Tasmanian sparkling wine and a lovely note in the room! Will definitely be returning for Dark Mofo in 2024.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank s4172249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2023

The lobby at the Tasman may be a little underwhelming but first impressions in this instance are most definitely misleading. This is what hotels should be like. Understated elegance and luxury. Blending in seamlessly with its surroundings. The little touches that make a difference. A blend of tradition and modernity. Friendly but professional service. Giant kings size beds, big flat-screen TVs with all channels included (Fox Footy etc. - why don't more places do this?), excellent showers, super dark curtains... Making the customer feel special. Championing local produce and artists. The Tasman does all of these things and more. An excellent addition to the Hobart accommodation scene. I thought Macq01 was fantastic when we stayed there a few years ago, but the Tasman definitely rivals it.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank flavour2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2023 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with so many luxurious touches. THE most comfortable bed and pillows. Robes, coffee, tea , slippers, nighttime lighting, blackout curtains, high quality bathroom products, and walk in shower. Very central location for the wharf, bars and restaurants .

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank louisar498
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews