We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boat Shed

The Boat Shed and Mt Wellington
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boat Shed and Mt Wellington
Lounge room Dining room and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Boat Shed and Mt Wellington
Lounge room
Dining room and kitchen
Views from every room
Gorringers Beach and the reserve from the deck
Native trees love the climate
Sunset
The Boat Shed
In the bay - just out front!
Take photo's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lucyhobsb...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfection ”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Such a beautiful and relaxing place to get away! Perfect place for a couple retreat. House was perfectly set up with everything you need and more with breakfast provided. Hosts were lovely and very attentive to details to make sure the stay was perfect! Great house with stunning views. Loved every day there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
A pleasure to have you stay!
Regards, Judy and Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChookiePo...
Peachester, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“pretty water views”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the first 3 nights of our 9 night stay in and around Hobart. Lovely view of water and Mountains was much enjoyed with curtains open still with adequate privacy. Very quite at night which was lovely. Hosts were very quite. No cake or bread for us because we are gluten free - but bacon & eggs for the first morning provided :)
The down side was the bed rocked rather a lot when either of us turned over. Sheets lovely and smooth and shower wonderful and hot. Clean and tidy cabin throughout. Thanks for the stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Hi Cathy-lee,
A new bed was installed the day after you left. Thanks for the feedback!
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards, Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias52
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A 5* property in every respect”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

All communication prior to our stay was dealt with promptly and efficiently by Judy. The Boat Shed effectively has a glass wall facing the 180 degree panoramic view, the centrepiece of which is Mt Wellington - it is an absolutely stunning location. The approach to the property is via a short boardwalk, attractively planted either side, which leads directly to the front deck. The interior is comfortable and equipped to a very high standard - the owners seem to have thought of everything. Breakfast provisions, sufficient for a couple of mornings, were provided, along with a delicious banana and chocolate chip cake. There is direct access from the property to the coastal path and it is just a short walk to the Mortimer Bay Reserve; it is a great place for birdwatching. This is a first rate property in every respect and the hosts, Judy and Allan, were friendly and welcoming while at the same time respecting our privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
I'm so glad everything was to your liking. It's the way you should be treated - especially traveling from the UK. Thank you so much for your very kind words - it is appreciated!
Regards, Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surely one of the best holiday homes for couples in Tasmania”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have stayed in many self catering holiday homes around the world and the Boat Shed is one of the best. It starts with an absolutely fantastic location, on the shores of a large shallow bay and with views to die for. Set well apart from the owners' house, it is the perfect spot for a relaxing break and, being just 20mins or so from Hobart, close enough to 'civilisation' should you feel the need to pay somebody else to cook dinner.

Catering for yourself, as we did however, is easy thanks to a well-equipped kitchen. It is very rare that I don't find something is missing when cooking a meal, but that never happened while we were there (one week). The only possible limitation is the lack of an oven but, as the Boat Shed is built for two people only, the convection microwave is a workable substitute.

Getting to sleep is hard. Not because the bed is uncomfortable or the place noisy, but because a pair of patio doors at the foot of the bed open onto a gorgeous, calm vista with a backing track provided by numerous shore birds. You do eventually drift off though, and the peace, 360 degree natural beauty and coastal air ensures a good night's sleep.

Apart from Hobart, the Boat Shed is also located conveniently for the Tasman Peninsula, Port Arthur and, just within a three-hour drive, the world-class Freycinet National Park - well worth a visit.

The accommodation was spotlessly clean and very well provisioned. Judy and Allan, the owners, left us brekkie goods enough for two or more mornings in our case, and there was plenty of basics - clingwrap, foil, condiments, bathroom basics, etc. Wireless internet access is provided and was fast, with no dropouts while we were there. Parking is separate from the owners' place, close to the Boat Shed, with plenty of room to turn a large SUV around. Water comes from a rainwater tank and water heating is instantaneous, so no chance of running out mid-shower.

We will definitely stay again should we visit the area and I can recommend this accommodation to any couple looking for a well maintained and supplied holiday home in a first-class location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: One week was not enough!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jldPerth
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“MAGICAL”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in this magical location for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The Boat Shed is cosy and charming with the most AMAZING views looking over beautiful Mortimer Bay to Mount Wellington. Location is perfect being half an hour from the airport (with no traffic lights) and half an hour into Hobart (with minimal traffic lights). The fabulous Hill Street Grocers and bottle shop are a scenic ten minutes drive away.

We were made to feel most welcome by the owners Judy and Alan and the provisions of bacon, eggs, milk, bread and home made cake added to such a warm welcome. Were also treated to sightings of dolphins and Mr Pelican in the bay out the front and the beautiful tiny blue wren and its partner flitting in and out of the pretty bushes on our doorstep.

Will definitely return. Thank you Judy and Alan for sharing your beautiful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Yes the dolphins and pelican I didn't organise myself although I wish I could! Thank you for your kind words - they are most appreciated. We'll see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing