We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$138
Fully refundable before Wed, 6 Mar
No prepayment needed
Priceline
AU$138
Fully refundable before Wed, 6 Mar
Agoda.com
AU$117
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
27
28
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
28
13
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2019

Totally the best Buffet Selection I have ever had, service was great setting was very comfortable really enjoyed and will be back for certain in the near future The buffet contained food that suited our group of eight giving each person a good selection some could only eat certain foods our age group 63-75. We were celebrating a birthday and a special piece of decorated cake came with out our wonderful waiter staff with a plate marked with Happy Birthday done in chocolate for our birthday lady. Not know if this was pre arranged by one of our number or a normal thing for the Bistro. Discount offered on our Seniors Cards.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2019

Kinda confusing name: Hotel Motel. It's really more like a motel. The four of us stayed in 2 rooms. Pretty much average throughout: Bedrooms were smallish but ok. So are the bathrooms. Reasonably clean and comfortable. Motel staff were pleasant. They work the bar and the reception desk. Not the best location. Very drab neighbourhood. Within 10-15 minutes walk to downtown. Another 5 minutes or so and you're at the waterfront. Problem is walking back because the motel is perched up a very steep road and the climb will mean huffing and puffing even for a fit person. A boxed breakfast is placed in the room. Didn't look like much and we didn't bother. Lots of places to eat in town. We had a rental car and there was ample parking space at the back of the motel virtually outside your door.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2018

We stayed at Marquis' motel for the first time which is always a daunting experience when you've been staying elsewhere for 16 years when you holiday in Hobart. But there was no need for concern - the room was spotless, the beds comfortable with no outside noise or along the corridors. And that view. It was sensational - day and night. I doubt there'd be a better view from any motel in Hobart. (Have a new phone and can't upload the photos I took but there's some on here taken by other guests) I would certainly stay at The Marquis again and thoroughly recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2018 via mobile

We flew into Hobart relatively late and checked into a local Airbnb close by and desperately wanted something to eat.
With very little open or, as importantly, accessible we found The Marquis Hotel Bar.
It was a Monday and the Buffet was closed so we tried the Bar.
It has a gambling focus which has no appeal to us but quite common in Australia.
There are some Pool Tables plus the ubiquitous TV Screens.
One of the guys at the Bar was quite helpful but the glass of Wine we had was very poor.
They only had frozen snacks and the toasted sandwich I had was absolutely dreadful.
My wife had Flatfish and chips which was palatable.
It has quite a tired look about it.
The bonus Bonus was that there was a Bottlo attached to The Hotel which stayed open late and they had a good deal on a Wine we really like.
We had no Car and getting to The Bar was up some very steep inclines which, after a days travelling, nearly did for us!
But at least going back was easier.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Greatblackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2018

For the price it was pretty decent and the rooms sizey enough for 1 or 2 persons. We stayed here twice and in the same room, the let down was the brilliant room view overlooking Hobart by an unclean window and also the light switch in the bathroom was dirty. The second time we stayed there in the same room and the light switch STILL was unclean and the entire room reeked of a very heavy smell of bleach. Otherwise im happy and keen to stay another time. The trip into the city was just there and short, any hills were easy to tackle and without the hill there would of been no spectacular views of not only Hobart but Mt Wellington behind us and the rest of the mountains. Free WiFi was a relief and big split air-con/heater in the room was also handy. Because the car park is also access to a bottle shop parking can be non available at certain times of the day but 99% of the time we got a good park that was lined up with the accommodation side.

The bistro next door on the other hand which allegedly has nothing to do with the Marquise the woman there with short blond wavy hair absolutely needs an attitude adjustment and fast before she loses their establishment MORE customers. Rudest person I have dealt with in the hospitality industry to date.

Suggestion - to eat at the Marquise pub as we ended up doing,the meals are a fraction of the price, huge meals and very filling I nearly rolled out of there I was so stuffed, full and happy, the staff are very friendly and fully accommodating. Give yourself a pat on the back Marquise we were overly happy with all services you provided. thanks!

Room tip: Don't hesitate, just do it.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1313cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews