We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, comfortable and contemporary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Zeehan, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and contemporary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I had purposely sought a hotel central to Constitution Dock restaurants, car hire and cultural attractions. Hotel Collins offered all this, and my review search indicated high levels of cleanliness and comfort. The initial booking process was reassuringly efficient, and on my arrival, reception courtesy was of a high order. The room decor was crisp and modern, fittings were clean and contemporary, and the bed was very comfortable; also, everything worked. City noise was minimal. The restaurant offered an attractive menu, with friendly service. I would be happy to use the Collins as a travel base on an extended stay in future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAshford255367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    484
    104
    22
    8
See reviews for
98
463
79
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We like this hotel. Service was good and the rooms are stylish, contemporary and comfortable (though on the small side). Beds are extremely comfortable (beds are fantastic). Its on the edge of the CBD and a little bit of a walk to Salamanca (more than ten minutes) but its close to shops and the theatre -and there is also a great little cafe on the ground floor. Only negative for us was the fact you have to park across the road in a multi story car park - but there is a parking space just outside the hotel to drop your suitcases off. Definitely a 4 star hotel and one of the better options in Hobart.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a way from the lifts - it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very well located hotel with rooms of a good standard. The restaurant looks modest, but don't be fooled, the standard of the food was very high. The local oysters shucked to order won't be forgotten for a long time! The service from all staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

After rural wandering for a week, Hobart, the big city beckoned, and we chose to be in the CBD, walking distance to everything we wanted to experience. Hotel Collins was the perfect location, and our corner one bedroom suite felt like home in the city. We felt so comfortable there we stayed 4 nights, instead of the planned 2, and after a couple day trips out of the city, it was great to get back to the 7th floor, (and I'm not a city person). The floor to ceiling windows managed to keep out city noise, serious curtains kept out the light when sleeping, the bed was wonderful, and the minimal decor worked in sophistication. Kitchen nice enough we cooked dinner twice, and enjoyed the city/bay view from the little dining table. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Very clean, quiet rooms. We had a room overlooking the carpark next door, but beyond that was the glorious views of the Derwent River. The room was very quiet. The hotel is central to the cbd, and to the wharf area where a lot of the cruises go from. Salamader market is a 10 minute walk. Botannical gardens is a half hour walk from the hotel. We had the continental breakfast each morning, healthy and delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay again, and would love to go back to this jewell of the south, that is Hobart. Tourist information is 5 min walk.

Room Tip: my room on 10th floor was fine, but others might not like the carpark view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.8 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.7 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): $165 - $426
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing