We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Pros: close to city centre. We walked everywhere.
Has a little kitchenette and so one can have their breakfast as the hotel provides milk, jam, butter and bread
Great sturdy mattress
Quiet
Close to the best bakery in town

Cons: we stayed there for 3 nights and noone ever came to tidy up our room or change towels. Maybe that's normal in this type of acommodation. I have never stayed in a pub before so I cannot say or maybe their worker was unwell.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Athina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017

After trying to decide on one of the classier restaurants in Salamanca, we stumbled upon this place. Very good food (a cut above pub food for sure). As others mentioned, incredible sticky date pudding. Great wine list and inspired menu. Service was nice and the pub was full of local color. Also the haunt for the Sydney-Hobart racers.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TGNY-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Reviews were good so we strolled (with directional map)to this hidden gem The pub is quite old fashioned ie 70"s style but the food was great . Porterhouse steak at $32 and Chicken $28 .Very good crispy vegetables and decent pint at $9 .Find this place using a street map.Nice walk through interesting colonial housing .You wont be dissappointed

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedrow5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Wow! We stopped in at the Shipwright arms on the recommendation of someone at Jackman and McRoss,which doesn't serve dinner. We discussed dinner options, which seemed ok.

We returned for dinner which turned out to be EXCELLENT! We had the fish of the day with vegetables. We also ordered a plate of chips (fries, if you're American). We all loved our dishes including the one Risotto.

Added to this was the excellent service from Stacy.

Thank you!

Pricing was reasonable.

If we ever return to Hobart we'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wandering-J-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed there great position, amazing friendly staff, could not fault at all. Food great, good selection, accommodation clean and comfy, walk to salamanca and CBD, walk around Battery Point enjoy the quaint cottages and plenty of places to have a light brunch or a coffee

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#36 of 47 in Hobart
92 reviews
3.1 km away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#31 of 47 in Hobart
746 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#23 of 47 in Hobart
188 reviews
1.7 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#37 of 47 in Hobart
129 reviews
0.6 km away
Blue Hills Motel
Blue Hills Motel
#46 of 47 in Hobart
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright's Arms Hotel

Address: 29 Trumpeter St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $84 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shipwright's Arms Hotel was established in 1846. Situated in the heart of historic Battery Point, Shippies (as it is know by the locals)has unique collection of Tasmanian and maritime memorabilia. Browse around the bar for the maritime memories including a 7 metre photomural showing every Sydney to Hobart yacht race line honours winner. The English style bar (built by a shipwright) features Tasmanian timbers and the log fires keep it cosy during winter. In summer you can relax in the ambient beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shipwright's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright's Arms Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing