We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating the food and service - very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rating the food and service - very poor”
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We went here a couple of weeks ago for my husbands work Christmas dinner. A 6pm booking. A few things not available on the menu, not such a big deal. We were in the room that had a bar but the staff said they couldnt serve drinks from it as it was too confusing - for who Im not quite sure... So every time some-one wanted a drink they had to go to the main bar. The food was average,the staff unfriendly and unhelpful. What happened to this glorious old pub that was always packed and had a fun friendly atmosphere. Wont be going back again.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobartGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    36
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
17
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2016

It was the first time that we had visited Shippies. We had not booked in and were surprised that we got a seat (let alone being the only ones in the restaurant). Husband had the scallops, while I opted for the seafood selection. I noticed that the meal included a couple of things that I really don't like and the waitress was only too happy to leave these off my plate and add something else in place of - which was most appreciated. The meals were very fresh, large proportions and tasted delicious. My only complaint was that the noise from the bar was really loud. Staff were friendly and I would definitely enjoy a meal her again.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Cosy in winter, great nautical decor, friendly bright service, food above average pub food comparable with restaurants. I visit shippies every Hobart visit. Good place if solo with a friendly bar. Also good for a large group in the restaurant. Food is a little expensive for a large family but very affordable for a group of adults. Also is disabled accessible from the back. Interior is bigger than it seems. Service is not fancy, mostly enthusiastic university students and euro backpackers with fully functioning brains.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapmanCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed the shipwright arms until I had the misfortune of deciding to have a night cap at the bar after the beautiful day spent in Hobart. Upon reflection I wish I went to bed.
- I was insulted by the owner thinking he was being "funny"

- I had someone go through my handbag which resulted in my phone screen being smashed in the bar troff because the owner told him "I look dodgy" ?????

- A fight ensued of two patrons right beside me.

To be sure, I did not feel comfortable sleeping upstairs after this series of events. The remainder of my stay I avoided the bar and hotel at all costs. It was truly disappointing. I get angry every time I look at my phone screen which could have been avoided if there were respect for a persons belongings and a woman's handbag.

I would like to note that the manager and bar staff were great, the owner should be thankful to have employed such wonderful staff and should leave tending the bar to them.

Stayed October 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodfoodtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Called in for dinner ,this time sober , have only been in after finishing a boat race to hobart as much as i enjoyed the celebrations i really enjoyed the experience even more in quieter times .The food was to die for, the service was exceptional and the atmosphere fantastic. Lots of tradition would highly recommend.

Room Tip: not sure only had dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balinutsnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 48 in Hobart
88 reviews
1.7 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#35 of 48 in Hobart
125 reviews
1.1 km away
Central Hotel Hobart
Central Hotel Hobart
#37 of 48 in Hobart
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
1,224 reviews
0.7 km away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.6 km away
Blue Hills Motel
Blue Hills Motel
#46 of 48 in Hobart
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright's Arms Hotel

Property: Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Address: 29 Trumpeter St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): $87 - $148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shipwright's Arms Hotel was established in 1846. Situated in the heart of historic Battery Point, Shippies (as it is know by the locals)has unique collection of Tasmanian and maritime memorabilia. Browse around the bar for the maritime memories including a 7 metre photomural showing every Sydney to Hobart yacht race line honours winner. The English style bar (built by a shipwright) features Tasmanian timbers and the log fires keep it cosy during winter. In summer you can relax in the ambient beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shipwright's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright's Arms Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing