We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Called in for dinner ,this time sober , have only been in after finishing a boat race to hobart as much as i enjoyed the celebrations i really enjoyed the experience even more in quieter times .The food was to die for, the service was exceptional and the atmosphere fantastic. Lots of tradition would highly recommend.

Room Tip: not sure only had dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balinutsnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    36
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
17
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Have just come home from a very unpleasant experience with the publican of this Hotel.
Having taken my elderly parents out to lunch and them having a entrée of chowder

then myself and hubby had a steak ,we also had a voucher from the entertainment book and asked the publican to separate the bills we had the voucher and my parents only had a entrée not a main meal.
This request was rudely refused and and a heated discussion was had I am very sorry to say that he didn't have the decency to take one main meal of the bill ,refused to separate the bill and so we received a discount of a entrée only ,this is a very poor attitude.
His policy was that my parent were they to sit at a separate table could have a separate bill ,and if we had sat separate to them we would of saved $35.00 NOT $17.00 how pathetic WE WONT RETURN BEWARE ANY PERSONS WITH THE ENTERTAINMENT VOUCHER

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ransley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here on a Friday night I can highly recommend the crispy salmon, seafood basket and beef schnitzel we all tried a bit of each other's and were impressed. Staff were lovely. Prices seemed ok maybe a couple of dollars higher per dish than usual pub fare.

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here twice on a recent visit to Hobart. First time because it was close to our accommodation in Battery Point and we had two tired youngsters with us, and the second time because we were so impressed with the warm and helpful service and lovely food. On our first visit, they were very busy with a large group and many other diners, but even though we didn't have a reservation, they quickly found a table for us and made us very welcome. This is what the hospitality industry is all about. Our meal was lovely, so a big thank you to wait & kitchen staff at the Shipwright's Arms.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ookie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Nice old pub with plenty of parking and a nice bar ambience. A couple of blips, but the staff were generally pretty helpful. I'd recommend it anytime, and if you're from Melbourne, you'll get a glimpse of the old fashioned world, before most of Melbourne's was torn down.

Room Tip: Budget rooms only have double beds so if you're travelling with another bloke, beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevT4232UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 48 in Hobart
88 reviews
1.7 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#35 of 48 in Hobart
125 reviews
1.1 km away
Central Hotel Hobart
Central Hotel Hobart
#36 of 48 in Hobart
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
1,224 reviews
0.7 km away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.6 km away
Blue Hills Motel
Blue Hills Motel
#46 of 48 in Hobart
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright's Arms Hotel

Property: Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Address: 29 Trumpeter St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): $88 - $149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shipwright's Arms Hotel was established in 1846. Situated in the heart of historic Battery Point, Shippies (as it is know by the locals)has unique collection of Tasmanian and maritime memorabilia. Browse around the bar for the maritime memories including a 7 metre photomural showing every Sydney to Hobart yacht race line honours winner. The English style bar (built by a shipwright) features Tasmanian timbers and the log fires keep it cosy during winter. In summer you can relax in the ambient beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shipwright's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright's Arms Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing