We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed fpr a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Nice old pub with plenty of parking and a nice bar ambience. A couple of blips, but the staff were generally pretty helpful. I'd recommend it anytime, and if you're from Melbourne, you'll get a glimpse of the old fashioned world, before most of Melbourne's was torn down.

Room Tip: Budget rooms only have double beds so if you're travelling with another bloke, beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevT4232UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days. The reception was great and the staff were very helpful when we wanted to change the booking. Great room, very comfortable and reasonably appointed. Food was very good. Overall we felt very welcome for a few days in a very convenient spot.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Grand old hotel in a nice area of Hobart, plenty of of street parking, great place for lunch and or dinner. The food is five star and the staff can't do enough for you, it has nice atmosphere and in winter they have a fire burning to make cosy and warm.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

My hubby and I come here every 6-12 months for a special date night without our children. We always order the herb and garlic bread and a scotch and porterhouse medium rare with the reef and beef curry sauce. Normally the steaks are cooked perfect and the sauce is a beautiful creamy curry sauce with fresh prawns and scallops.

Tonight for the pub loaf we received margarine textured 'garlic butter' minus the garlic. Horrible.

Then 30minutes later we received fatty bad quality steaks with watery tasteless sauce topped with frozen prawns. We asked for more sauce and received a small jug to share of white tastelss slop.

When we enquired with the waitress we were informed it changed owners 8 months ago. We ate our chips and walked out and went to Mures instead.

Don't waste your money here. 5 star has become 0 star.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SamStella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

This restaurant was an all round awesome experience! From the server and bar staff being super friendly and accommodating to the chef creating a complementing concoction of flavours into the perfect meal! I highly recommend that anyone who visits Hobart eats at Shippy's!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lthomsen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#36 of 47 in Hobart
92 reviews
3.1 km away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#31 of 47 in Hobart
746 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#23 of 47 in Hobart
188 reviews
1.7 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#37 of 47 in Hobart
129 reviews
0.6 km away
Blue Hills Motel
Blue Hills Motel
#46 of 47 in Hobart
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright's Arms Hotel

Address: 29 Trumpeter St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $84 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shipwright's Arms Hotel was established in 1846. Situated in the heart of historic Battery Point, Shippies (as it is know by the locals)has unique collection of Tasmanian and maritime memorabilia. Browse around the bar for the maritime memories including a 7 metre photomural showing every Sydney to Hobart yacht race line honours winner. The English style bar (built by a shipwright) features Tasmanian timbers and the log fires keep it cosy during winter. In summer you can relax in the ambient beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shipwright's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright's Arms Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing