We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Review Highlights
An awesome experience

A brilliant 8 days in on a truly remote and wild river. Exciting, arduous and hilarious, with a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jane B
Fantastic wilderness river

Had a really great trip down the river with Water By Nature. It is an amazing wilderness river and... read more

Reviewed 16 February 2024
Peter K
Read all 125 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Hobart
from AU$260.00
More Info
from AU$275.00
More Info
from AU$320.00
More Info
from AU$175.00
More Info
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
124
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
124
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an adventure true wilderness day trip private group remote wilderness an incredible experience bucket list capable hands dietary requirements scallops fantastic trip lamb these guys klaudia rapids rafts paddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2022

Sensational trip! Every single centimetre of the 120km journey with Water by Nature was water and nature immersion at its absolute best. Wild and adventurous, but safe and comfortable, fun and games, but relaxing and chilled. An incredible experience down this stunning, majestic, remote river made possible for us by this company and their experienced and beautiful guides who packed us full of fun and food and all the features of the Franklin. And thank you to all those who showed such determination and strength and passion to keep it wild and free that we might enjoy it.

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank W3663CYmelissao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2021

As a Tasmanian, I never really appreciated the significance of our remote wilderness. The Franklin River was absolutely enchanting.
Our guides worked their guts out to look after our welfare and feed us like royalty.

Anyone who calls Tassie home must do this trip at least once!

Date of experience: December 2021
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2021

This was an amazing experience with experienced guides that really knew the river. Food was outstanding and the overall experience could not have been better. I could not recommend Water by Nature Tasmania Franklin River Rafting highly enough and if your thinking about doing it then book now as you will not regret it.

Date of experience: November 2021
Thank robertcC9823NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

Had an amazing time on this trip! The river is incredible and the rapids are really impressive. We had very high water but the experience of the guides is second to none and safety always came first. Luckily years and years of experience meant that they can read the river so well and know what’s safe and what’s not. We were very lucky because despite starting with high water (Which meant not much portaging!) we made it down without any troubles. Rain the first day and a bit cold but some very fun and big rapids and by day 4 we had made it to the lovely dry Newlands camp where we spent 2 nights having a fantastic relaxing time. We had a great group and lots of laughing was had. The food is as amazing as everyone says! Prawns, scallops, laksa, curries, ice cream, fresh salad, many many cakes, lots of delicious cheese and nibbles, quail, lamb, whatever else you can think of!! We never went hungry. Amazing scenery, a must do for the adventure lover. Thankyou Brett, Jed and Owen for a once in a lifetime trip and for being such friendly, fun, accomodating and relaxed guides (even in the face of huge rapids).

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank stop9926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

What a privilege to experience the stunning beauty of Tasmania’s South West Wilderness whilst rafting down the mighty Franklin River with Water by Nature. And what a privilege to have a guide who has been “on the river” for more than 30 years. With a focus on our safety, encouraging us when we needed it, and feeding us so magnificently (probably when we didn’t).
Thank you, and yes Brett I think you are right... once is not enough.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank B_Horsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews