We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Review Highlights
A truly fantastic life experience that months later still brings me joy to reflect on.

A truly fantastic life experience. Stunning beauty, majesty, adrenaline pumping excitement... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jono R
An awesome experience

A brilliant 8 days in on a truly remote and wild river. Exciting, arduous and hilarious, with a... read more

Reviewed 10 April 2024
Jane B
Read all 126 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Hobart
from AU$260.00
More Info
from AU$275.00
More Info
from AU$320.00
More Info
from AU$175.00
More Info
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
125
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
125
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an adventure true wilderness day trip private group remote wilderness an incredible experience bucket list capable hands dietary requirements scallops fantastic trip lamb these guys klaudia rapids rafts paddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2021

This was an amazing experience with experienced guides that really knew the river. Food was outstanding and the overall experience could not have been better. I could not recommend Water by Nature Tasmania Franklin River Rafting highly enough and if your thinking about doing it then book now as you will not regret it.

Date of experience: November 2021
Thank robertcC9823NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

Had an amazing time on this trip! The river is incredible and the rapids are really impressive. We had very high water but the experience of the guides is second to none and safety always came first. Luckily years and years of experience meant that they can read the river so well and know what’s safe and what’s not. We were very lucky because despite starting with high water (Which meant not much portaging!) we made it down without any troubles. Rain the first day and a bit cold but some very fun and big rapids and by day 4 we had made it to the lovely dry Newlands camp where we spent 2 nights having a fantastic relaxing time. We had a great group and lots of laughing was had. The food is as amazing as everyone says! Prawns, scallops, laksa, curries, ice cream, fresh salad, many many cakes, lots of delicious cheese and nibbles, quail, lamb, whatever else you can think of!! We never went hungry. Amazing scenery, a must do for the adventure lover. Thankyou Brett, Jed and Owen for a once in a lifetime trip and for being such friendly, fun, accomodating and relaxed guides (even in the face of huge rapids).

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank stop9926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

What a privilege to experience the stunning beauty of Tasmania’s South West Wilderness whilst rafting down the mighty Franklin River with Water by Nature. And what a privilege to have a guide who has been “on the river” for more than 30 years. With a focus on our safety, encouraging us when we needed it, and feeding us so magnificently (probably when we didn’t).
Thank you, and yes Brett I think you are right... once is not enough.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank B_Horsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2021

Upper Franklin 5 days , Collingwood river to McCalls hallway.Really Great experience , good bunch of people. Guides have great knowledge of the area and river . Good and plentiful food. Interesting to go back to this wilderness after 37 years and do it again with much more safety and comfort. Will do this again one day hopefully at high water and with WBN. Thanks again Owen Ester and Jed , and other paddlers.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank RossH1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2021 via mobile

A group of 8 friends in their early 60s did an 8 day rafting trip down the Franklin in late March. It was wonderful but tougher than expected. The river and its surrounds are extremely beautiful. There are lots of flat sections and multiple exciting rapids. The hard part was the portages that often involved clambering up and down rocks (and two cliffs) pulling on ropes to get the rafts through narrow gaps in the rocks in the river.

Our river guides were fantastic - really lovely people. Blake had done the trip over 40 times and Amy 7 times. They patiently taught us how to paddle in time and what to do in the rapids and portages. And they cooked the most amazing food, given we were deep in the Tasmanian wilderness.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank robert_cumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews