We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Review Highlights
A truly fantastic life experience that months later still brings me joy to reflect on.

A truly fantastic life experience. Stunning beauty, majesty, adrenaline pumping excitement... read more

Reviewed 1 May 2024
Jono R
An awesome experience

A brilliant 8 days in on a truly remote and wild river. Exciting, arduous and hilarious, with a... read more

Reviewed 10 April 2024
Jane B
Read all 126 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Hobart
from AU$260.00
More Info
from AU$295.00
More Info
from AU$320.00
More Info
from AU$175.00
More Info
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
125
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
125
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an adventure true wilderness day trip private group remote wilderness an incredible experience bucket list capable hands dietary requirements scallops fantastic trip lamb these guys klaudia rapids rafts paddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2021

Upper Franklin 5 days , Collingwood river to McCalls hallway.Really Great experience , good bunch of people. Guides have great knowledge of the area and river . Good and plentiful food. Interesting to go back to this wilderness after 37 years and do it again with much more safety and comfort. Will do this again one day hopefully at high water and with WBN. Thanks again Owen Ester and Jed , and other paddlers.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank RossH1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2021 via mobile

A group of 8 friends in their early 60s did an 8 day rafting trip down the Franklin in late March. It was wonderful but tougher than expected. The river and its surrounds are extremely beautiful. There are lots of flat sections and multiple exciting rapids. The hard part was the portages that often involved clambering up and down rocks (and two cliffs) pulling on ropes to get the rafts through narrow gaps in the rocks in the river.

Our river guides were fantastic - really lovely people. Blake had done the trip over 40 times and Amy 7 times. They patiently taught us how to paddle in time and what to do in the rapids and portages. And they cooked the most amazing food, given we were deep in the Tasmanian wilderness.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank robert_cumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2021

We booked a private 10 day trip on the Franklin R with this company. They went overboard to cater for our private group of semi-retired people from Canberra including doing an after business hours conference call to address questions.

The experienced guides were terrific and knowledgeable of the area. And geeze they worked hard in shifting those heavy rafts over some of the tricky portages! They allowed two of our party to paddle pack rafts under their expert direction. So for packrafters this is a very safe way to really paddle the river yourselves.
The food was fabulous - unbelievably so.

Note that this trip has lots of hazards and risks, and you do need to be physically capable of paddling and moving over slippery terrain. For instance, one of our group ended up with a suspected fracture, which we thought might require medical evacuation. Due to the experience of lead guide Claudia - we avoided this and the 'victim' was able to continue paddling and enjoy the rest of the trip.

I would highly recommend this mob again to anyone interested in seeing and experiencing the Franklin R.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Madshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2021

Every day of the trip brought new experiences and adventures on the Franklin River on Palawa land . The guides were fantastic

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Campbell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2021

We booked an 8 day rafting trip down the Franklin, ending in Strahan. The spectacular scenery and nature experience beggars belief, enhanced by the "living in nature and with nature" experience. However, a long adventure like this is highly dependent on the crew: we were fortunate to have been led and guided by Jed, Nick and Max. Highly professional superfit individuals, who made every step of the journey safe. Their equipment was high quality, their knowledge of the river and its potential dangers was impressive. Calm and friendly, assisting everyone of us 11 tourists with our individual needs. Realising our inept knot tying skills Nick put up our family tarp every night so we could be shielded from the rain.
Jed, an acclaimed rock climbing star turned out to be also a five-star chef ! He catered for vegetarians, vegans, gluten- free persons and performed sheer magic in his improvised gas-cooker kitchen with his gourmet 3-course meals, different ones for every one of the 7 nights. His snack breaks and lunches were also superb. His cooked breakfast included zucchini omelette and toasted pain au chocolate. Needless to say that Jed did not do "Black and Gold": he served freshly percolated Lavazza every morning.
In summary: Great scenery and wilderness immersion, fantastic crew but not a high chance of weight loss !

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank 998hubertusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews