We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Review Highlights
A truly fantastic life experience that months later still brings me joy to reflect on.

A truly fantastic life experience. Stunning beauty, majesty, adrenaline pumping excitement... read more

Reviewed 1 May 2024
Jono R
An awesome experience

A brilliant 8 days in on a truly remote and wild river. Exciting, arduous and hilarious, with a... read more

Reviewed 10 April 2024
Jane B
Read all 126 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Hobart
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
125
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
125
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an adventure true wilderness day trip private group remote wilderness an incredible experience bucket list capable hands dietary requirements scallops fantastic trip lamb these guys klaudia rapids rafts paddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2021

We booked an 8 day rafting trip down the Franklin, ending in Strahan. The spectacular scenery and nature experience beggars belief, enhanced by the "living in nature and with nature" experience. However, a long adventure like this is highly dependent on the crew: we were fortunate to have been led and guided by Jed, Nick and Max. Highly professional superfit individuals, who made every step of the journey safe. Their equipment was high quality, their knowledge of the river and its potential dangers was impressive. Calm and friendly, assisting everyone of us 11 tourists with our individual needs. Realising our inept knot tying skills Nick put up our family tarp every night so we could be shielded from the rain.
Jed, an acclaimed rock climbing star turned out to be also a five-star chef ! He catered for vegetarians, vegans, gluten- free persons and performed sheer magic in his improvised gas-cooker kitchen with his gourmet 3-course meals, different ones for every one of the 7 nights. His snack breaks and lunches were also superb. His cooked breakfast included zucchini omelette and toasted pain au chocolate. Needless to say that Jed did not do "Black and Gold": he served freshly percolated Lavazza every morning.
In summary: Great scenery and wilderness immersion, fantastic crew but not a high chance of weight loss !

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank 998hubertusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2021

I took the 8-day full Franklin River rafting trip 22-28 Dec 2020. The guides who went with us were Klaudia, Ash and Max. This trip through such beautifully stunning and largely untouched wilderness is something that has long been on my bucket-list and the reality lived up to, and in some ways exceeded, expectations. However it is not a trip for the faint-hearted: paddling four of the eight days in cold wind and rain, battling gastroenteritis and a couple of the portages/”climb-rounds” were physically challenging. A level of physical and mental fitness was required and skills in wilderness back-packing was useful. At 66 years old (and feeling those years), I was able to cope and enjoy the trip, so age is not a barrier, but be aware there will be demands made of you. That said, even in the rain and cold (with the wetsuits and thermals provided), the scenery, flora and fauna were magnificent and rafting the rapids was exhilarating. When the sun came out, it became a journey through something like paradise, with adventure and comradery thrown in.

Communication with Water by Nature Tasmania was quick and clear and booking easy. The guides were well-trained and experienced, which showed in their navigation of the rapids. The decisions on which rapids to portage and which to run was clearly conservative and made with the safety and ability of the clients in mind. The instruction and ongoing encouragement/training through the trip moulded the largely green crews into reasonably efficient teams. Having rafted the Zambezi River below Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe twelve years before, I started out thinking I would be a couple of strokes of the paddle ahead, but this type of rafting is very different with much less water and many more rocks and any advantage I may have had was soon overtaken. As leader of the trip, Klaudia was very prescriptive (necessarily so at times) in her instruction and rebuke, but, of the guides, she was the most well-versed in the history, botany, geology and biology of the area. Ash and Max brought a lot of fun and play to the trip without in any way allowing that to impinge on their professionalism on the raft. Some of the equipment (e.g. tents) was rather old, but had been maintained so that in no way did this at any point Impact the safety and other equipment (e.g. air mattresses) was new and remarkably comfortable. A highlight was the food. I never expected delicious and plentiful three course dinners every night in the wilderness! Breakfasts, lunch and snacks were equally tasty and generous. I am still amazed that Klaudia could spread so appetising and ample a table for fourteen people using only two fuel burners!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank kigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2020

We have just returned from a 7 day rafting trip and we have memories that will last forever. It was every bit as good as all the reviews suggest - definitely not for the faint hearted as it was strenuous and hard work at times but a truly special adventure. Our guides, Robin, Ester and Mark were outstanding in every way. If you are thinking about it - just do it!

Date of experience: December 2020
2  Thank 1237cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2020

I just got back from a 7-day trip down the Franklin with Water by Nature. The short summary - it was AMAZING!!! The guides were super experienced and friendly, the rafting is just the BEST (We were lucky in that it had just rained a lot, making some of the rapids even more exciting), and the food....well...I didn't loose any weight (I don't eat this fancy living in town surrounded by good restaurants)! If you like rafting, or just being in remote wilderness, then you should definitely do this trip - you definitely
won't regret it!!

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank AndreasK1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2020

We had an unforgettable week on the Franklin with wise and friendly guides who not only knew the river inside out, but also served up an absolute feast at every meal. The gear provided (wetsuits etc) kept us warm, dry and comfortable. 100% recommend.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank emmaegodden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews