We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic wilderness river

Had a really great trip down the river with Water By Nature. It is an amazing wilderness river and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Peter K
Magical escape in the wilderness

My husband and I had a magnificent rafting journey down the Franklin. I came with zero rafting... read more

Reviewed 27 January 2024
LucyAnaisdA
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 123 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Hobart
from AU$240.00
More Info
from AU$275.00
More Info
from AU$280.00
More Info
from AU$155.00
More Info
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
122
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
122
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an adventure true wilderness day trip private group remote wilderness an incredible experience bucket list capable hands dietary requirements scallops fantastic trip lamb these guys klaudia rapids rafts paddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2020

A fantastic trip down the Franklin River.
kWe did the 7-day trip with a pretty mixed group from different countries. The weather was fantastic and the tasmanian nature is incredible. Furthermore we spotted a spotted quoll as well as a platypus during the trip.
The organisation of the trip was great and we were really happy to taste all the different local food.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank T2496EIanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2020

What a great trip! As a native Taswegian I was ashamed to say that I had never been down the Franklin...but not anymore! We hit the river along with our intrepid West Aussie friends, fresh from the Kokoda Track (why walk when you can paddle?). The river is magnificent, and this is the only way to see it. Our guides, Brett, Ester and Nick were organised, safe and fun, with over 40 years rafting experience between them. A warm pain au chocolat at 6am is a great way to wake up...and where did you hide those two bottles of champaign and how on earth did they survive all those rapids? Thank you Brett, Ester and Nick for a truly memorable experience. This is an absolute "must do" for locals and visitors alike and I can now include this (along with "chainsaw use", "drip torch competency", and playing the banjo) as part of my home grown Tassie CV. Life's too short, don't put it off any longer....paddle, paddle, paddle...

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank rpertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Our group of intrepid 10 West Aussies joined forces with a couple of resident Taswegians to undertake the Franklin journey in January. Trip leader Brett, along with great support from guides Ester and Nick, safely took us on and amazing 8 day adventure. Stunning wilderness scenery, challenging obstacles, some adrenaline filled moments and lots of laughs. Plenty of great food and memorable campsites. We are very lucky to have the opportunity to experience this special river. A unique and memorable trip. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 636brentj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2020

What an amazing Xmas 2019. It was spent rafting this beautiful river with a remarkable group of people and staff. The river and its history should be a must for all Australians. It is wild; no internet, no cars, just nature at its best.
The trip was well run with 2 guides who always had our safety as paramount. Thank you Nick and Klaudia for looking after us and cooking the most amazing food.
I recommend all to go on this trip with water by nature, I couldn't fault them.
Thank you again for an unforgettable experience, I hope to do the trip again at some stage.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank juliannatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

We were incredibly lucky to have Scottie and Travis as our guides looking after us on our trip down the Franklin. These guys are very experienced guides and talented rafting specialists. They are also amazing chefs (what they can cook on a camp stove is incredible!) excellent joke tellers, knowledgeable historians and part motivational psychologists! Their skill in getting the rafts through the rapids was phenomenal.
There is no other way you can experience this World Heritage listed wilderness. If you’ve been thinking of rafting down the Franklin then do it with these guys. We had a fantastic time. Don’t worry about the weather. If it rains you will still have a great time. Invest in a waterproof camera if you can. Thank you so much Scottie and Travis. You guys are brilliant!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank jennin2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews