We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BlondeBunny
Sydney, Australia

Great staff but not a good night sleep

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 June 2023via mobile
The best part about the hotel was the front desk staff, super friendly and wanting to help any way they could. The first room I got was facing a construction sight, literally felt like the construction was a hand length away. I asked to change the room as you would literally see workers looking into your room if you opened your curtains. Not to mention the noise. I got moved to another room - that one was looking at another building but that was fine, unfortunately after 6am the huge aircon unit from the building next door would switch on, so any hope for sleep would disappear. The window was not double glazed so it was extremely noisey. Also any noise in the corridor travelled right through the door. Overall I tried to spend as little time in the room as possible.

Like other reviewers mentioned- this hotel is super basic, not many things provided for you, ie no hair conditioner, no shower cap etc. Also the pool looked great but without having any robe in the room or slippers, I couldn't walk in there with my winter boots etc, so I couldn't use it.

Overall I would say I would chose another hotel next time.
Date of stay: June 2023
Room Tip: Make sure you check that your room is not facing the construction site or the huge aircon unit on...
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susanty Daale-Setiady, Other at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this review
Responded 25 June 2023
Dear BlondeBunny,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our front desk team. We are incredibly proud of them and their commitment to providing friendly and helpful service to our guests. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the lack of view in our standard rooms and the noises during your stay.

We offer value for money and a convenient location and while some amenities are available on request, we understand that these aspects may not have met your expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings during your stay. We value your feedback and will take into consideration as we strive to continuously improve our services. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you better in future.

Sincerely,

Susanty Daale-Setiady
Hotel Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$209
  • Vio.com
    AU$209
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
0.8 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
AU$200
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$182
  • Agoda.com
    AU$173
  • Trip.com
    AU$200
1.0 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$176
0.6 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$185
  • Priceline
    AU$185
  • Movenpick
    AU$185
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
0.5 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$264
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
  • Agoda.com
    AU$244
  • Priceline
    AU$273
1.0 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Priceline
    AU$129
0.8 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$210
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$240
  • Agoda.com
    AU$193
  • Priceline
    AU$240
0.8 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
0.9 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$121
  • Priceline
    AU$131
  • Expedia.com
    AU$146
  • Hotels.com
    AU$146
0.5 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
AU$166
  • Priceline
    AU$163
  • Agoda.com
    AU$152
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
2.1 km from Ibis Styles Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
310
275
109
18
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
310
275
109
18
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great pool on site parking bed was comfortable easy walk stayed nights central location gym salamanca market cbd harbour wharf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2023

Basic a tad small, but clean and had everything you need for a quick overnight.
Great view of the area and the location is good, only a 5-10min walk to the water and food vendors. Park only a few min walk away.

Chromecast on the tv.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahtravelled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susanty Daale-Setiady, Other at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2023

Dear Sarahtravelled3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We're thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and found your room to be clean and equipped with everything you need, albeit basic. Our location in the CBD is indeed a great advantage, and we are pleased to know that you found it convenient , with the waterfront just a short walk away.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Susanty Daale-Setiady
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2023

My wife and I stayed here recently for 2 nights. This is a very good value hotel for those who are not looking for luxury. The hotel is well located with underground parking. Rooms are compact but quite functional. The restaurant is excellent and a great asset for both breakfast and dinner. Staff very friendly. Well recommended.

Room tip: Great Value
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ski2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Walling, General Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Thank you Ski2021
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2023 via mobile

Had a one night stay when in Hobart for work. Clean comfortable and secure room. Pretty close to pubs restaurants etc. Staff were pleasant, courteous and professional. The pool looked inviting and the gym looked well equipped. A good place to stay.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank barn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Walling, General Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience barn72
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2023 via mobile

Fantastic welcome on arrival to reception, happy and engaging. Room clean, tidy, efficient - nothing more needed. Partial view to water. Best feature so close to the city and waterfront. Very convenient. Pool heated with great views to the waterfront. Loved staying and will again in the future.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank TravelaccordingtoKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Walling, General Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Hi TravelaccordingtoKez,
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2023 via mobile

It’s new, has a laundry ($4 washer and dryer) which was really handy - and the indoor heated pool/spa were great. Close to the market if that’s where you want to be. $23 overnight parking was a bit steep. Rooms are very very small. Not much room to put yourself and your bag. We had a
not so nice view of the office block next door - so not very private. Staff weren’t that friendly. Breakfast was pretty average buffet type. Wouldn’t stay again - would choose one of the newer hotels in the centre of town.

Room tip: Ask for a water side room view
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnboy3bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Walling, General Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Hi johnboy3bw,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologise we did not meet your full expectations on this occasion.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews