We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JohnsiesonHol
Gold Coast, Australia

Exceptional in every way.

Review of MACq 01 Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2024via mobile
From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for something special. All staff were warm and welcoming, & nothing was too much trouble. Ash checked us in & was a delight.
We had a 4 night stay in an executive corner suite. It was spacious and well set out, with stunning harbour views. The room had a large bathroom with extra large tub, which was much appreciated by the 6’ 4” occupant. The fireplace was gorgeous, which added to an already elegantly cozy ambiance. The bed was very comfortable with a great bonus of pillow selection, via the pillow menu. The walk through robe was perfectly located and intuitively designed for ease of unpacking/packing, wth ample room for 2 large suitcases and their contents.
The hallways & common areas, all had a warm, inviting feel. There is not a thing that could be improved. The only area we didn’t experience was Evolve Spirits Bar, which we will savour on our next visits.
Bravo Macq01, your setting and ambiance are exquisite, but the staff are the jewel in the crown. We hope the travel gods allow us a swift return.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$216
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Agoda.com
    AU$191
  • Hotels.com
    AU$216
0.1 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
  • Hotels.com
    AU$199
  • Vio.com
    AU$199
0.2 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$157
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
0.3 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$190
  • Movenpick
    AU$190
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$172
  • Priceline
    AU$190
0.6 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$183
Fully refundable
  • VibeHotels.com
    AU$178
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$172
  • Hotels.com
    AU$183
0.6 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$128
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
  • Agoda.com
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
    AU$154
0.5 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$129
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$100
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
1.5 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$176
  • Expedia.com
    AU$189
  • Agoda.com
    AU$152
  • Priceline
    AU$172
2.2 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Blue Hills Motel
AU$91
  • Expedia.com
    AU$99
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
  • Priceline
    AU$88
1.3 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$145
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$139
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
1.0 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (3,092)
Filter reviews
3,092 results
Traveller rating
2,749
233
73
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,749
233
73
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews story telling wharf restaurant story bar waterfront room great location hunter room tasmanian history amazing hotel valet parking rooms are spacious hobart waterfront mini bar mona ferry salamanca markets constitution dock henry jones storytelling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 3,092 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

We enjoyed four nights at this great hotel right on the harbor. The location is spot-on. It's a bustling area during the day, with the busy harbor always fun to watch, and pleasantly quiet at night. You can walk virtually anywhere in town and the Salamanca area with lots of restaurants is an easy 10 minute stroll.

The rooms are very large, nicely decorated, immaculate and well-equipped. We booked a harbor view, which was definitely worth it, and it had a great bathroom with double sinks and a soaking tub. A separate dressing area had space for our suitcases and made unpacking and repacking a snap. A Nespresso machine and fresh milk were available as well. There's a small but reasonably well-equipped gym and two bars and a restaurant on the main floor. The hotel also offers free tours, both of the town and the hotel itself. We took the town tour, which we enjoyed.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luxlovernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Decided to pay for one of the premium suites and glad we did. Fantasic room, great staff and spacious well equiped room. Outside area overlookng the harbour was quite stunning. Everything reflected top class. Room service was excellet with the only complaint being there was too much food!

We will be back.

Room tip: Whilst the preiumn suite is expensive, I would recommend spending the extra to stay there. Guaranteed to take your breath away.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Honestly cannot fault this hotel
Was our last night in Hobart so we lashed out for Suite with view of Harbour.
Was so worth it. The room was gorgeous and view stunning.
Facilities were excellent and the staff were all very friendly.
Thanks for lovely stay

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendim57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Loved staying here as the spaces are sized generously, building is beautiful, and as it is not a many storied building, everything is easily accessible.
We did not have a water view but as we did not spend much time in the room we did not miss it.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2024

We did a 12 day self drive holiday in Tasmania, starting with a 2 night stay at MACq01 and staying again for 1 night at the end of our trip. In one word….. EXCEPTIONAL!
Customer service was second to none, from the valet parking, the porters, front desk staff and restaurant staff.
Our waterfront suite had gorgeous views of the harbour. The bed was super comfy. The bathroom was perfect. Everything about the hotel exudes luxury. It won’t disappoint.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristeen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews