We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$460
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
No prepayment needed
AU$460
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,011)
Filter reviews
3,011 results
Traveller rating
2,672
231
72
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,672
231
72
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews story telling wharf restaurant story bar waterfront room great location hunter room tasmanian history amazing hotel valet parking rooms are spacious hobart waterfront mini bar mona ferry salamanca markets constitution dock henry jones storytelling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 3,011 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2021 via mobile

Spent 4 nights to celebrate a very special occasion
Hotel facilities and location are great, but service average to poor.
Can’t charge any restaurant or bar charges to the room due to an “IT issue”
Breakfast order went missing due to an IT issue
Coffee is very poor, after 3 attempts to get a decent long black I gave up.
Don’t stay here until they sort out their issues, as you can’t charge the prices you do if you don’t back it up with 5 star service

Date of stay: May 2021
1  Thank husbandsydneyblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Dear husbandsydneyblondie,

Thank you for choosing MACq 01 to celebrate your special occasion. I am pleased that you found the location and facilities at MACq 01 to be favourable, however I share your disappointment that we were unable to provide the flawless, five star service that you had hoped for and that we strive for.

Sadly you are correct, we have experienced significant system issues which has affected all of our hotel systems including our booking systems and point of sales which has subsequently resulted in changes to our usual operation. I sincerely apologise that your experience with us was negatively affected by this but can assure you we are working hard to rectify these issues.

Should you find an opportunity to return to Hobart, I would be delighted to welcome you back with a view to delivering you a truly special and memorable MACq 01 stay.

Warm regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.
Beautiful hotel, comfortable beds but very lacking elsewhere.
Staff in the lounge area need training in how to keep up. One shouldn’t have to wait 5 minutes for a menu after sitting then have to go over to the staff standing at the front in order to have someone take your order!
After dinner in the lounge we felt like a cognac in the spirit bar only to be invisible to the staff arguing over which table the sliders belonged to.
The coffee at breakfast is awful
Food just OK-
Come on Macq 01- train your staff on the basics of service and get a decent barista

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SydneyBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey, General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

SydneyBlondie, many congratulations on celebrating your 40th wedding anniversary, and thank you for choosing MACq01 as the place to celebrate. We want our guests to enjoy a little carefree indulgence, regardless of the occasion and as such share your disappointment that our service levels weren't quite perfect during your stay. Thank you for your feedback, which is invaluable in helping us target training and support for our team in our ongoing quest for excellence.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hobart and MACq01 again in future.
Warm regards,
Matt Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

The hotel it’s self is stunning, beautiful building, rooms, views, location 10/10 yes.
.....However we came off the back of cancellation from covid over NYE, and instead stayed over Easter (I completely understand a credit to rebook but I feel they could have refunded the difference in price rather than putting it on the bar..)

We found the staff were seriously lacking. No one was in charge or were able to answer our questions and it was obvious other people were having similar issues.

As paying guests you don’t really expect to wait an hour for a drink because there is a private event at the bar.
Or during room service it took 2 hours to get a bottle of wine sent up.

We felt that maybe staffing problems were off the back of covid? But we did stay during Easter 2021....

They had a pc/phone system break down during our stay (these things happen) and it lasted 24hours. It just seemed to be another thing !!
Lastly, the checkout was a disaster. No one could understand how the ‘credit’ would work against our room charges.

We want to stay again but have been left too deflated.
I hope for their sake things have improved!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Dear Sam S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of MACq 01 Hotel. Whilst I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and found the location to be convenient during your visit to Hobart, I am also disappointed to hear there were many other aspects that fell below the high expectations we strive for at MACq 01 including multiple delays in service and confusion during check out.

Unfortunately, over Easter we experienced significant system issues throughout our hotel which affected our booking system and point of sales systems, which we are still working through, yet hope to rectify as soon as possible. Due to these issues it has sadly resulted in changes to our usual operation and I sincerely apologise that this affected your MACq 01 experience.

Even during a period of upheaval, we aim to be flexible and pragmatic so that your comfort and relaxation are not compromised, and already we have discussed your concerns so that we can better support and enable our team in future.

Thank you again for your feedback, I’m very grateful for the time you have taken to provide this and I do hope we can one day deliver you a truly memorable experience should you be returning to Hobart.

With warm regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2021

We stayed here for 3 nights and wish it had been for longer. Loved everything about it. Check in was flawless and the valet parking easy and quick. Excellent service throughout. Most comfortable bed.
The room was everything you needed. Location excellent. Stories in the lift and on all the doors interesting. Even the corridors are gorgeous. Enjoyed breakfast and the whisky bar. Enjoyed a story tour with Greg ( works at the Henry Jones but did the tour from Mac the day we were there) on a fine sunny day from the hotel to Salamanca. Very worthwhile doing.
We will return to Hobart and after a less than perfect end of holiday stay at the Henry Jones ( beautiful building and room with beams etc but interior furnishing fit out shabby motel like red/plastic looking black leather and orange cushions) we will always stay at the MacQ

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey, General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

pollydoodle, it certainly sounds like you've found a perfect fit at MACq01! A few days of indulging in tasty food and whisky, while absorbing some fascinating stories of iconic Tasmanian characters, both notable and notorious, is certainly time well spent.
We will be delighted to welcome you back to Hobart again.

Until then, safe travels.
Matt Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

Macq01 is a great spot if you are visiting Hobart. It’s very central and surrounded by some great restaurants. The Drunken Admiral is a must do! As they emerge from Covid, there is some work to do! The staff are pleasant and the service is not bad. The rooms are very dark and the bathrooms are very very very dark! Good luck with the make up girls 😳.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kezzp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Dear kezzp1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at MACq 01 and providing feedback on your experience, it is very much appreciated.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us and appreciate your constructive feedback around our bathroom lighting also. Understanding and receiving feedback on our guest's experiences is important to us as it allows us to grow and develop. I'm truly grateful that you've provided insight into your experience, thank you.

If you are looking to return to Hobart in the future, we’d welcome the opportunity to look after you once again.

Kind Regards

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews