We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
AU$320
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
No prepayment needed
Priceline
AU$320
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$256
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,053)
Filter reviews
3,053 results
Traveller rating
2,710
233
73
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,710
233
73
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews story telling wharf restaurant story bar waterfront room great location hunter room tasmanian history amazing hotel valet parking rooms are spacious hobart waterfront mini bar mona ferry salamanca markets constitution dock henry jones storytelling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 3,053 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2021

We stayed here for 3 nights and wish it had been for longer. Loved everything about it. Check in was flawless and the valet parking easy and quick. Excellent service throughout. Most comfortable bed.
The room was everything you needed. Location excellent. Stories in the lift and on all the doors interesting. Even the corridors are gorgeous. Enjoyed breakfast and the whisky bar. Enjoyed a story tour with Greg ( works at the Henry Jones but did the tour from Mac the day we were there) on a fine sunny day from the hotel to Salamanca. Very worthwhile doing.
We will return to Hobart and after a less than perfect end of holiday stay at the Henry Jones ( beautiful building and room with beams etc but interior furnishing fit out shabby motel like red/plastic looking black leather and orange cushions) we will always stay at the MacQ

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey, General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

pollydoodle, it certainly sounds like you've found a perfect fit at MACq01! A few days of indulging in tasty food and whisky, while absorbing some fascinating stories of iconic Tasmanian characters, both notable and notorious, is certainly time well spent.
We will be delighted to welcome you back to Hobart again.

Until then, safe travels.
Matt Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

Macq01 is a great spot if you are visiting Hobart. It’s very central and surrounded by some great restaurants. The Drunken Admiral is a must do! As they emerge from Covid, there is some work to do! The staff are pleasant and the service is not bad. The rooms are very dark and the bathrooms are very very very dark! Good luck with the make up girls 😳.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kezzp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Dear kezzp1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at MACq 01 and providing feedback on your experience, it is very much appreciated.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us and appreciate your constructive feedback around our bathroom lighting also. Understanding and receiving feedback on our guest's experiences is important to us as it allows us to grow and develop. I'm truly grateful that you've provided insight into your experience, thank you.

If you are looking to return to Hobart in the future, we’d welcome the opportunity to look after you once again.

Kind Regards

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

Wow.
We had a great afternoon here. Delicious drinks.
Rachel, was wonderful, so knowledgeable and friendly. She was not only a great ambassador for the venue, but she did Tasmanian whiskey proud. Rachel, you are a star.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C8133BLelizabetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear C8133BLelizabetha,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at MACq 01 and providing feedback on your experience, it is very much appreciated.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and in particular I am grateful for your comments regarding the service received from Rachel. I will certainly pass on your lovely feedback, thank you.

Thank you again and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to MACq 01 in the future.

Kind Regards

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2021

Upmarket hotel in great location. Concierge service is fantastic. Found the other staff a bit cold and aloof. The room is very modern, clean and comfortable. Great view of the harbour and always something happening to watch.

The food in the hotel was ordinary. Ordered breakfast one day and the bacon was a big lump of inedible fat.

Paying close to $500 per night for a room and then to be charged $6.00 delivery for room service a bit rich.

There is a strange discourse between the hotel and the restaurant. Could not book a table through the hotel and had to pay separately (could not simply add to hotel account).

Probably would look elsewhere next time.

Room tip: I have no tip. If you are prepared to pay a high price for the harbour view then OK
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank trevorgS5710MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear trevorgS5710MD,

Thank you for staying with us at MACq 01 and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Whilst I'm pleased to see that some aspects of your stay were positive, I am also concerned to note there were others that fell below the high expectations that we strive for, particularly the service experience you have described and quality of food.

Unfortunately during your stay, we did have significant system outages which sadly affected our normal operations, including our booking systems and point of sales systems. I apologise for the inconvenience this caused and the impact this had on your experience with us.

Our guest feedback is critical so that we can seek to improve so I’m very appreciative that you have shared these concerns as a warm, personable and seamless guest experience is of high priority for us at MACq 01.

Thank you again and should we be lucky enough to have you stay again in future, I would be delighted to welcome you back with a view to delivering you a truly special and memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

Macq 01 is a stunning spot on the waterfront, staff are welcoming and knowledgeable. They made our honeymoon stay a great one. We love the stories highlighted by the hotel, with rooms beautifully curated. The gorgeous wood lamps are quirky and beautiful.

Service is efficient and friendly, a refreshing change.

Evolve serves a fab selection of spirits and their cocktails are spot on!

We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amyjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear Amyjmac,

Congratulations to you both! I’m delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us to celebrate this special time in your lives. Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review and we will look forward to looking after you again next time.

Warm regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews