We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$320
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Amy McArdle
Alice Springs, Australia

Perfect spot for a honeymoon

Review of MACq 01 Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2021via mobile
Macq 01 is a stunning spot on the waterfront, staff are welcoming and knowledgeable. They made our honeymoon stay a great one. We love the stories highlighted by the hotel, with rooms beautifully curated. The gorgeous wood lamps are quirky and beautiful.

Service is efficient and friendly, a refreshing change.

Evolve serves a fab selection of spirits and their cocktails are spot on!

We will be back!
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 8 May 2021
Dear Amyjmac,

Congratulations to you both! I’m delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us to celebrate this special time in your lives. Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review and we will look forward to looking after you again next time.

Warm regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq01 Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$218
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.2 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
Tripadvisor
AU$164
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.5 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Travelodge.com.au
AU$123
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$129
  • Algotels
0.9 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ibis Styles
AU$155
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$147
  • Priceline
1.0 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$221
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$258
  • Priceline
0.6 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$176
  • Priceline
0.6 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$156
  • Priceline
0.3 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Movenpick
    AU$195
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$177
  • Priceline
0.6 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$151
  • Algotels
2.2 km from MACq 01 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (3,077)
Filter reviews
3,077 results
Traveller rating
2,734
233
73
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,734
233
73
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews story telling wharf restaurant story bar waterfront room great location hunter room tasmanian history amazing hotel valet parking rooms are spacious hobart waterfront mini bar mona ferry salamanca markets constitution dock henry jones storytelling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 3,077 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Macq01 in the Executive Waterfront Suite for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. Probably the best place we’ve stayed in Australia.
- Amazing views of the harbour
- Very comfortable king bed
- Large and luxurious bathroom
- Lounge has a kerosine fireplace
- Delicious range of breakfast options (try the smoked salmon and egg bagel)

To make it even more special, the staff were very friendly and always helpful.

My partner and I definitely want to go back.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jansyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear Jansyd,

Wow, thank you for providing this truly wonderful feedback. We endeavour to provide our guests with a unique and memorable experience during their visit to Hobart and I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It will be my pleasure to pass this feedback on to our team and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2021 via mobile

What a gorgeous hotel! The decor is superb throughout, the service is fantastic and the breakfast was wonderful. Also really enjoyed the quirky storytelling aspect and really enjoyed our morning tour with Colette. Overall extremely satisfied and will come again if we visit Hobart in the future.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear Stephycake,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at MACq 01 and providing feedback on your experience, it is very much appreciated.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular I am grateful for your comments regarding the service you received from Colette on your Storytelling Tour. I will certainly pass on your lovely feedback, thank you.


Kind Regards

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2021

The reputation of accommodation places can be a blessing or a hindrance - in this case the venue lived up to it's reputation in more ways than one. Consistency is the key to reliable service and this place delivered both at all times. We chose to stay in an upper level room on the harbour side with balcony, and loved it - plenty of space, all amenities were excellent, comfort, decor, ambience, heating, and little touches like floor heat in the bathroom was fabulous. I can't think of anything to improve the experience at all.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dimburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear Dimburr,

Thank you for providing this lovely feedback. We aspire to deliver a special experience to our guests at MACq 01 and I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to create some fond memories for you.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back if we are lucky enough to have you stay again in future.


Warm regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a couple of nights at Macq1 this week as a fitting end to our three week Tassie honeymoon. Great location, wonderful staff, beautifully appointed and spacious room overlooking the water.
Things were a tad disorganised...our requested “honeymoon suite” initially had two single beds, the hotel reservations system had broken down, the phones couldn’t reach room service or housekeeping... room restocking missed things out...but all that was overlooked as we loved it.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
8  Thank PaulandLynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear PaulandLynM,

Congratulations to you both! I am absolutely thrilled that you chose MACq 01 to celebrate this special occasion in your lives and I’m glad to hear you had a great time overall.

Sadly you are correct, we did experience significant issues with our systems during your stay and I'm terribly sorry to hear this created confusion with your booking and that there were details overlooked during the servicing of your room. I understand the importance of these details and the impact it can have on the guest experience when these items are missing.

Thank you for your understanding and support, it is really appreciated. Should you ever be returning to Hobart, I would be delighted to welcome you back with a view to delivering you a truly memorable and special stay.

With warm regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq 01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

Fabulous three nights in this genuine 5-star.

Large room, king comfortable bed, clean, perfect bathroom, great shower, technological modern, great location, and the best ‘mini bar’ Ive ever seen.

Cant fault.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank VinNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Casey , General Manager at MACq 01 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear VinceNewcastle,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at MACq 01 and providing feedback on your experience - it is very much appreciated.

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Matt Casey
General Manager
MACq01 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews