We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
26
28
6
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
28
6
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews battery point common lounge area sweeping views crockery and cutlery tea and coffee facilities derwent river a king size bed off street parking we loved our stay salamanca markets salamanca place quiet at night short walk stayed for nights a great place to stay fantastic location our room was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Really comfy place. Our room had a fridge, separate seating area, good sized bathroom and a super comfy bed. The view was amazing, we loved waking up to it each morning. Bill was most helpful on checkin. So easy to get around, some great restaurants a short walk away. Communal kitchen area well stocked with plates, glasses, cutlery plus a few extras. Parking easy.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheSteggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We stayed for 8 nights and were pleasantly surprised with this little gem. It is a quaint B&B situated in a residential part of town that had much charm and character. It is within walking distance (only a few hundred metres) from some restaurants and pubs and the most amazing pastry shop (Jackman & McRoss) which we frequented for breakfast as unfortunately there is none available at this establishment. The king bed was firm but comfortable, we had a river view which was lovely and spanned the whole width of the room and the towels were fluffy. The extra sized room was clean upon arrival and serviced daily. The caretaker was very friendly and showed us our room which was a lovely gesture, everything we needed was available. There is also a small communal room with a microwave and lounge. The Salamanca area of Hobart is a 10 minute walk away where there is more places to eat.
My only gripes were that the pillows were all too flat apart from one for my liking. Also as this is an old restored Inn the floorboards were a bit creaky in areas so I tried to be careful not to annoy the downstairs guests!
Every night we had a pleasant sleep as the area is so quiet and I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for something a little different from the main chains and something with a bit of character. I would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Choose a room with a river view
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shelley2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Battery Point Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thankyou for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the 2br cottage out the back and we enjoyed our stay. Quite spacious...clean and comfortable... and a good price too. Good view of the river from the landing. Host was very helpful and she even found a needle and thread for us:) We recommend it to you.Well done to all staff.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

we spent a week at the Battery Point Manor during January , our room was room 6 a large light filled room with a view over the river and adequate for our stay. Although there is no breakfast offered and for the price and that the advertisement says B and B we expected a simple breakfast .
Unfortunately someone broke into our room early in the stay ,when we were out for the day and stole our i pad which left an uncomfortable feeling for the rest of the stay , I couldn't sleep for the rest of the week knowing someone had been in the room. The access to the property is via key both at the front door and then into the room . so to get into our room someone needed a key to get in. it was quite a distressing experience and hopefully by sharing this experience will highlight to the owners that the guest house needs to install security cameras in order to safeguard its customers.
we contacted the Hobart police and they are looking into the incident

Room tip: room 6 for a couple is a nice large room with a view
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Battery Point Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

This was a most unfortunate incident and I was sorry to hear it impacted on your holiday. Let me state unequivocally there have been no incidents of guests reporting stolen items at the manor before this incident. However the owner is now going to install security cameras which will give guests peace of mind and provide visual evidence if needed in the future. It states quite clearly on our website the manor doesn’t provide breakfast . Also Booking. com will state whether breakfast is provided at the accommodation,and when the guest receives their booking confirmation email it will state no mean plan included. So if a future guest wants to be served breakfast at the accommodation they need to ascertain this before booking to avoid disappointment. There is an excellent breakfast cafe/bakery 2 minutes walk from the manor.

Update!!!!! The missing iPad was found under the lounge in the room after the guests currently occupying the room decided to move the lounge. They handed to a staff member.
So the iPad reported stolen was actually misplaced by the guests,
They didn’t look very well, nor did the staff and the lounge was low to the ground!
The guests who reported it stolen were contacted and have had their iPad posted back to them !!
Alls well that ends well !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

this is a very expensive room for very little reward, no breakfast, no bar, no pool, absolutley nothing. we saw the manager when we booked in, so he could take our money, and never saw him again, even though we needed help printing off boarding passes and booking a taxi to the airport, it sees that the only help they was willing to give was about our labido, instead of a good old gideons bible we got a book on the 'joys of sex'. wi-fi was great but kept going down around 5 a.m.... don't get me wrong this was a very nice room, spacious, clean and a very nice view, but totally overpriced for what it is, look at other pubs/bars/hotels....you will get cheaper, put the word MANOR in the title and you think your getting an upmarket deal, you are not, avoid unless you have money to waste.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsenal288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Guest Relations Manager at Battery Point Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Yes our rooms are spacious, clean and most do have a wonderful view of the river. This is the truthful part of this review. As for the rest of this review, apart from actually making me laugh it is just not true!
The manors rates over the festive season are certainly not overpriced when you compare on average what is being charged to stay in historic Battery Point.
The staff at the manor are always available to help guests and there is a bell at the front door and a phone number clearly displayed. In fact I have printed out boarding passes for guests in the past. However you do need to request this!
It states quite clearly on our website we don't provide breakfast. There is an excellent cafe /bakery two minutes walk from the manor which is open from 7am.
Why someone would book accommodation and without checking just expect a bar and a pool to be available is a mystery to me. However there is a hotel which is two minutes walk round the corner. There is also a pool available locally which is 15 minutes walk away.
Our reviews in general reflect peoples stay at the manor and are positive.
So I'm sorry Mr Arensal288 your stay at the manor was so unjoyful. I would suggest in future you do a bit more research on where your staying so your more informed about facilities available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews