We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and building, but not 5 star.”
Review of Quarry Salamanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarry Salamanca
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and building, but not 5 star.”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This property is listed on Wotif as 5 star, and charges $300 for a room. The building is amazing, solid sandstone and full of history. The location is great, sure there was noise on a Friday night, but hey, it's a Friday night. We stayed on the top floor, so maybe it was a little better up high.

However, the bed was terrible, it was the softest bed we've ever experienced, and we suffered back pain from two nights on it. The furnishings are fair, but not 5 star. The service is also pleasant, but not 5 star. Essentially, once checked in, you don't see or hear from anyone. The room was pretty clean, but it's an old sandstone warehouse, so it was dusty. There's no radio, CD player or iPod dock.

It's a great location, but not great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    46
    23
    11
    20
See reviews for
2
81
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

What a shame. This place could be really good, but it just wasn't.

The apartments have a great location in a lovely looking building. The rooms are quite stylish and spacious, and the bathrooms are also pretty cool. The downside is in the practical side of things. Having just stayed in one of the top floor rooms through a period when Hobart was warm (mid 20s) it was impossible to get any sleep. The room got FAR too hot, and the piddly portable fan provided just couldn't move enough air around the room. If you open the window to get the cool Hobart evening air, you also get noise from the pubs just down the road. On one night of the stay this went on till 3am. Surely this heat issue is easy to fix? A/C? Ceiling fan? Low energy lighting in the stairwell?

Also, the windows were filthy, as was the floor, and the room was full of cobwebs. Quite disappointing for the money. I wish I'd paid attention to the reviews on here. I'll not be visiting the Quarry again.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Frogger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Birchgrove, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

How wonderful is this place! On Salamanca Place, convict hewn sandstone penthouse apartment (called the "Market" room). Fantastic restoration, highlighting the history of the place, yet replete with very modern full kitchen, awesome bathroom, and the snuggliest bed. 39 steps up, no lift, may challenge the lighthearted. No aircon only downside, but Hobart weather hardly balmy. Such a funky space, with great lighting and views of the harbour. One of the best.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

If only we had read the reviews before we booked this place. There is no air con, which is extraordinary considering we paid so much money for four nights over NYEve. As we needed to close the windows to sleep at night due to noise, the rooms are very stuffy. The rooms are actually very nice in themselves, but the absolutely filthy windows and inside window sills were unacceptable for the price. The location looking over Taste Festival is fabulous - what little we could see though the muck. The dirty smeared hand marks all over the kitchen and laminated menus and info sheets was very off putting. I even spent some time cleaning all the kitchen glasses so we could have a drink and feel more comfy during our four day visit. There is also rather a lot of dust on the carpet. Has anyone cleaned in here? Having said all that, the bed and bath are clean. Plus, only 4 tv channels? Just ludicrously overpriced for what you get. Saw rats in the bar courtyard and staff seemed unconcerned. Would not return. Stayed at Henry Jones Art Hotel on the way in and it was worth every cent. Stay there!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PickyGuest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

First impressions are excellent. Lovely room, great location, very comfortable bed. It feels just great.

But then ...

The couple using the next room arrived. I jumped because I thought they were entering my room - it was so loud. But it wasn't their fault - the wall between our room was as though it wasn't there. I heard everything. And over the next hour, I heard EVERYTHING ... awkward!!

Maybe if you're planning a romantic stay in Hobart, try a place where the adjacent rooms don't unwittingly become an audience.

Sorry, can't recommend it because of that. Won't stay again unless it's properly fixed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brettyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 km away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 48 in Hobart
354 reviews
0.2 km away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.4 km away
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
0.0 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 48 in Hobart
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Salamanca

Property: Quarry Salamanca
Address: 27 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): $171 - $257
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quarry Salamanca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quarry Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarry Salamanca Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing