We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highlight of our holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tasman Island Cruises

Tasman Island Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 152.17*
and up
Full-Day Tasman Peninsula Tour from Hobart
Ranked #1 of 84 Tours in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the spectacular coast of the Tasman Peninsula with Robert Pennicott and his team on the yellow boats. Cruise beneath the highest sea cliffs in the Southern Hemisphere and explore the deep sea caves and archways along the coast. Come face to face with wildlife including seals, dolphins, whales and sea birds. Tasman Island Cruises depart from Port Arthur or you can join our Full Day Tour from Hobart.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

An amazing experience; our 2 "Damos" (driver & deck-hand) with their knowledge of the local area & the animals, made our yellow boat experience so exhilarating! Close encounters with dolphins, seals, albatross, & even a penguin, fascinated our young children. The dolphins 'showing off' near our boat & 'racing' beside the boat, was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.Breath-taking scenery of cliffs, caves & clear, blue-green water...truly a remarkable time spent amongst the best that nature has to offer. Thankyou for such a memorable boat trip!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    44
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Must do in Tasmania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

With 2 visitors from Canada, my wife and I decided to showcase our coastline by taking the Tasman Island cruise from Port Arthur.
From the time we arrived and were directed to the carpark by Yani(sorry if the spelling is wrong), we were proud to say we were Tasmanian.
Yani and Ben provided us with an amazing 3 hours on the water and the weather allowed us to cruise back into beautiful Port Arthur to finish what has to be the No 1 attraction in Tassie.
The customer service provided by all the staff was first class and something many other Tasmanians in the tourism business could learn from.
Rob Pennicott is a proud Tasmanian and knowing that part of the tour cost is redirected to conservation programs only adds to the value of the cruise.
To see Dolphins and Albatross in the wild wasa treat.
I have also previously travelled on the Bruny Island Cruise which is the parent cruise and is just as good.
Keep up the good work guys as you are doing something very special.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Amazing, great fun, crew excellent and a highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Worth every cent, have already recommended it to friends and relatives. Take the ginger tablets!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can't rate high enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We did the 3 hour tour on Australia Day 2012 and the whole family loved every minute. The tour was extremely well run. The views of the landscape from the boat was great and was my highlight. Whilst my daughter loved the dolphins and seals (which we saw plenty of.) This operator also has available full wet weather gear tops and trousers (whcih can be required) and a guide who gave some great insights in what we seeing during the tour.
The 3 hours tour is certainly long enough as by the end of the 2nd hour we were all pretty tired of the wind in face.
A final bonus were the great priced counter meals available at the collection / booking office. Thanks

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Pricey but totally worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This costs 110AUD as of November 2011 - which is quite pricey. But once we board the jetboat, it's totally worth every penny! The friendly staff offered us seasick pills (said to made of ginger and 100% organic) as we took the front row. Some people started to get sick after some time so i guess it was wise for me to take the pill in the beginning :) Then the jetboat sped into a white water rafting simulation - so exciting! We saw hunchback whales, lots and lots of sealions, amazing shearwater birds that swim out of water, and magnificent cliffs and caves! It was about 3 hours of ride. We had a bit of rain but were all well covered in orange overcoats. This was the highlight of my one and half week Tasmania tour!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank echoytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tasman Island Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing