We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good coffee”
Review of Rain Check Lounge

Rain Check Lounge
Ranked #261 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hobart
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good coffee”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

this place has great coffee and trendy food always a good experiance

Helpful?
Thank Cyberchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    69
    22
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We went to raincheck for lunch and found it to be really ordinary. The music was VERY loud and combined with tiled floors it was difficult to hear our conversation. The waiter also had trouble hearing our order and had to repeat it twice before getting it right. We ordered a chicken burger and arancini. The chicken burger came out with foccacia that was 'so hard it needed a saw'. The flavours were really bland and it really needed something to help cut through the huge amount of aioli it was smothered in. The chips were undercooked and oil soaked with that odd taste of semi-raw potato. The arancini were overly rich and again sat on top of a puddle of aioli. There were only 3 balls but although I was starving I felt like leaving the third - it was glaggy, salty and fatty and although the mushroom flavour was good and the cheese provided a nice little surprise every now and then, the overall effect was pretty grim. Again, something crisp and clean to balance out the overwhelming richness would have made a difference.
I think that the Rain Check is probably really good for some stuff but we definitely didn't find out what.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JGC976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
291 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“The soul of Hobart.”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This cafe/wine bar/ restaurant tries to be many things. Fortunately it all works.

Our party of three went for lunch at a busy time of the week. Snappy service was matched with good lunch selection nd a great wine-by-the-glass menu on a walled chalkboard. Great range and good prices.

The Gnocci was divine, my wife's skewered prawns got two thumbs up and my son finished of their huge chicken burger with mumbles of pleasured satisfaction.

Great atmosphere here, good value and a relaxed style that is also toddler friendly. It definitely adds to the ambience of this wonderful North Hobart precinct. We will be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good breakfast!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We went to Rain Check Lounge for breakfast since it was quite close to Graham Court where we were staying.

The breakfast was quite good, portions were reasonable, as was the price.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“GREAT RETRO ATMOSPHERE AND GREAT BREKKY”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This restaurant is very popular with the North Hobart crowd especially. I love the breakfasts. It has a great retro atmosphere, with the restaurant decorated superbly. It can be really noisy with all the banter, so don't go there if you expect it to be quiet.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rain Check Lounge also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Rain Check Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing