We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning restaurant”

Landscape Restaurant & Grill
Ranked #14 of 674 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Landscape is a glamorous and special room - all dark and black with spotlit landscape paintings on the wall. A wine room with the 'best' on the wall.

Staff were friendly and warm (no pretention) and very helpful.

The menu is local and very impressive. The waitress explained which wood was on the fire tonight because it imbues the meals with flavour - wine barrels and local cuts.

House bread with full cream butter to start - magic.

We started with prawns with wagyu oil (four prawns beautifully and smoke fully cooked) and rice crusted calamari. Stunning flavours. Main course we had steak (again smoke cooked) and tomato base fish stew (salmon and white fish and mussels). The side order of cauliflower with fontina, dates and macadamias was the standout - it was absolutely spectacular!!

The wine list is truly a bible - one to be worshipped and praised. While we contemplated the $1800 Grange Hermitage we settled on a Tasmania pinot that was gorgeous.

Next to us was a Chinese family (we imagine staying at the Henry Jones Art hotel which the restaurant is part of) with a 2 year old. She was playful yet silent. This is the sort of place where even a 2 year old can't ruin the ambience!!

Was a very special evening to end our Tassie trip and well worth the expense (~$260 for two people, two courses, one bottle of wine).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luci2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHenryJones, l at Landscape Restaurant & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Luci2307,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your time at Landscape.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the décor of the restaurant including the landscape artwork from which the name of the restaurant originates and the spectacular wine cellar. It is also great to read that you were impressed by the food from the Asado grill - the feature in our kitchen, as well as the extensive wine list.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable evening.

Many thanks,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

Our party of five had a lovely meal here...the staff were very attentive, and food was truly beautiful. We had a small hiccup with the steaks we all ordered being served luke warm, that even the cafe de paris butter wouldnt melt on top...but the staff dealt with this swiftly and professionally, and we didnt have to wait too long for replacements. I loved the decor and the lighting was great, as usually we have to get out our phones to shine a spotlight on the menu to read - not here. the lights are fab...very rare these days.
Enjoyable evening, thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 333Sally333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHenryJones, l at Landscape Restaurant & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear 333Sally333,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience at Landscape.

While we regret to read that your steaks were not served to your table at a warmer temperature, we are pleased that you were satisfied with how the situation was handled and that your table did not have to wait long for the issue to be resolved.

We do hope to welcome you back on another occasion for another enjoyable evening.

Warmest regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderful fine dining! Excellent food and lots of space between tables so we had lots of privacy. Would definitely recommend!

Thank Evy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHenryJones, l at Landscape Restaurant & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Evy C,

Thank you for your glowing review of your experience at Landscape!

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful evening and found the food to be excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you at Landscape again soon.

Warm regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

A recommendation form IXL Long Bar staff and we weren't disappointed. Food exceptional, service wonderful and the art was an extra touch. Bit on the expensive side but well worth it.

Thank angelot70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHenryJones, l at Landscape Restaurant & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear angelot70,

Thank you for your lovely review of your time at Landscape.

We are so pleased to read that you found the food, service and the landscape artwork to your liking!

We look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and i just had the perfect meal, entree main and dessert.
We had the octopus and sashimi kingfish for entree, best sashimi i have ever had.
We then both had the eye fillet steak cooked 2 differrent ways. It was the most tender and delicous steak we both have ever tasted, with sides of pumkin and duck fat chips, then shared the white chocolate and berry cheese cake for dessert.
This was all washed down with a very nice Gala Pinot noir.
Service was very good.
Highly recommended

2  Thank RustylH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHenryJones, l at Landscape Restaurant & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear RustylH65,

Thank you for your high recommendation and very kind words regarding your recent experience at Landscape.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience so much - especially the eye fillet from Cape Grim!

We hope to see you back at Landscape to enjoy another evening of good food.

Warm regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Landscape Restaurant & Grill also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Landscape Restaurant & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing