We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
30 minute walk in rain forest with lots of mushrooms

The nature trail is a 30 minute walk in the rain forest by the Franklin river and the Surprise... read more

Reviewed 7 May 2018
Fred T
,
Reno, Nevada
7 Day Full Franklin Rafting trip

This is a truely amazing experience that I am happy to recommend to anyone wanting a genuinely... read more

Reviewed 29 April 2018
Nickitis
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 100 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tasmania
from USD 21.36
More Info
from USD 83.28
More Info
from USD 97.77
More Info
from USD 79.66
More Info
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
93
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rafting trip white water rafting worked tirelessly true wilderness seven days green moss incredible journey fillet steak spent christmas and new year rock scrambling amazing experience memorable trip tour company fresh food side trips temperate rainforest rafts
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Our family of 4 (with boys aged 11 & 13 years) have just spent an incredible journey of a lifetime rafting down the Franklin River with Water by Nature. We have been lucky enough to have had many adventures travelling around the world but this was truly an epic foray into the wilderness. Our trip was filled with beauty, wildlife, excitement and challenges. We left feeling that we were truly some of the few who have had such a unique experience in this magical wilderness.

Our incredible experience was primarily due to the amazing guides, Jim & Scotty. Their skill, professionalism, knowledge, humour and patience meant our experience of the river and its wilderness was one we will treasure. Our boys were enthusiastic and committed to the adventure and the guides rewarded them by feeding their curiosity with fascinating stories, including them in the day-to-day activities by teaching them practical guiding skills, and entertaining them with back flips and jokes when the physical going was pushing us all to our limits.

The wild camping under rock overhangs & under the stars, sidetrips through caves and waterfalls, and the amazing spread of food meant each day was its own special adventure. The excitement of navigating the continually changing river itself with its rapids, obstructions, portages and lining the rafts through technically challenging sections meant our 8 days flew by.

If you're thinking of doing this trip, do it! And definitely do the whole Franklin not just the Lower Franklin... you'll be missing the essence of the adventure.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Adventuretime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Just returned from 8 unreal days rafting the Franklin river with 'Water by Nature' tour company, 31st Dec-7th Jan. I was blown away with the raw beauty of this place and I've come home filled with many forever memories! Every day was spectacularly different, with many fun side trips exploring up waterfalls, caves and canyons, as well as rolling down lots of epic rapids and scrambling over rocks and climbing up over rich mossy tracks.

Hat's off to our legendary guides from Water by Nature, Scotty and Angi, who worked tirelessly everyday to make sure we were happy, comfortable, safe, and always well fed, on and off the water. They were very reassuring on the water with their experience and skills and safety was always a strong area of focus. They both made it such a memorable trip for us all and we really appreciate their endless energy, fun banter and laughs.

It was years of talking and dreaming about the Franklin before we actually got our acts together and booked this trip – I can definitely say that every cent was worth it and more. Water by Nature are giving us a chance to raft down one of the last truly wild rivers in the world and to be able to experience this with my mates was absolutely MAD.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Just back from an epic 110 km rafting expedition with Water by Nature down the Franklin River. A friend had done the trip a year ago and I had done some river kayaking in Scotland - but still I wasn't certain what to expect. The trip was beyond my imagination. Paddling through easy and more difficult rapids, alongside undertaking some exciting portages, was accompanied by breathtaking temperate rainforest and the occasional white tailed sea eagle. Another group on the river with us even saw two duck-billed platypi! The campsites were spectacular - we were lucky enough to sleep on beaches under the stars, in caves and under tarps in some very wet rainforest! The food was always impressive (the most important part being the 'cheese bag'), they catered for gluten and lactose intolerance with ease and most importantly there were always snacks on hand for when a bit of extra energy was required. What really made the trip for me, however, was the guides. We had Eric and Angelo guiding us, and their knowledge, patience and energy was astounding. I'm sad to be back home but already planning my next trip with them...

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank kazaalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

An unforgettable experience made so by the magnificent environment, great company and a first class crew. Klaudia, Adrian and Blake looked after us on and off the river. The food was sensational, fresh and delicious. They even managed to keep our vegans more than happy! Their knowledge and rafting skills were enriching. We learnt much and were able to embrace the pristine wilderness. Long may it remain!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank warto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We did the 6 nights and 7 days rafting trip with Water by Nature and were dutifully impressed after our initial surprises.....First we had unparalleled good weather the week we went down (thank heavens). On the good side we did not have to sleep or paddle in the rain but on the flip side it meant the water was lower. We ended up having to do a lot of portaging - some which the guides said we would probably have had to do anyways. Brett and Klaudia did there best to help us out in this regard by adding another raft, or 2, and 2 more guides to help us get down the river. Our guides were not only fun but amazing. We had Eric, Blake, Matt and Jody. The food was fresh and very tasty. Those who say you can't take fresh food and cheese on a 7 day rafting trip need to do a trip with Eric. The equipment was in good shape and the service phenomenal both before we went down the river and while we were on the river. And then there was the river itself....it is hard to explain, imagine drinking the same water you are rafting in, sleeping under the stars, on mountain/hillsides and beaches with the glo worms and shooting stars. Rafting down the rapids and climbing over the rocks...... The scenery was great but the experience was even better. Thanks Brett, Klaudia, Eric, Blake, Matt and Jody

Date of experience: November 2017
3  Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews