We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water By Nature- Frankiln River Rafting Jan 2016”

Franklin River Nature Trail
Reviewed 28 January 2016

A big thank you to Jim and Marlo the river Guides for making this 7 day adventure one of the most amazing trips I have ever undertaken. The Guides were amazing the scenery spectacular and the members of the group great fun. It was a physically demanding trip with incredible portages through amazing canyons and over massive obstacles............................Cant wait to do it all again!!!!!!

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Rian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rafting trip"
in 11 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 5 reviews
"seven days"
in 3 reviews
"worked tirelessly"
in 2 reviews
"true wilderness"
in 4 reviews
"green moss"
in 2 reviews
"incredible journey"
in 2 reviews
"fillet steak"
in 2 reviews
"spent christmas and new year"
in 2 reviews
"rock scrambling"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 4 reviews
"memorable trip"
in 2 reviews
"tour company"
in 2 reviews
"fresh food"
in 2 reviews
"side trips"
in 2 reviews
"temperate rainforest"
in 2 reviews
"rafts"
in 11 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2016

On Lyell Highway, 26 minutes (17km) from Derwent Bridge on the way to Queenstown, there is a pleasant place to stop and relax in the nature, having a break or a picnic in this peaceful spot. There are parking spots, plus there are some tables and public toilets which can be used to eat and relax.
There are two walking trails (short, the first 5 minutes, the second 15 mins, both return) that will allow to walk inside the eucalyptus forest with their powerful smell, and have a view of the waters of the Franklin River.
Ideal stop for nature lovers driving the West Coast Highway.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank And_F_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

As we were traveling to Tasmania for the first time, I wanted to see some real wilderness. Found a 7-day trip on the Franklin with Water by Nature. Best decision.

Water by Nature, from beginning to end, provided an amazing white-water rafting adventure. And not your Disney type trip. Real, wilderness, wet, adventure.

My compliments to Brett and his crew of guides. They were professional, friendly and very protective of all of us.

Even the weather was perfect. Great equipment. Wonderful food.

Now, don't get me wrong. This trip was a lot of work. You paddle, get wet, climb rocks, and get tired. But it is a very good tired.

There are few real wilderness experiences for the average person. This is one of the best.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We were blessed with perfect conditions: weather and river level just right. Add to that, plentiful fresh food, unique scenery and wild treasures unlike any elsewhere in Tassie (thank you, thank you to those who helped save this precious wilderness area) and guides who I thought were demonstrably expert in their field (not that I know a thing about rafting guiding) and you have the right mix for a very active, challenging adventure with safety aspects managed as well as can be.
I think pre trip fitness is a must for your own comfort, safety and enjoyment on the river.
Thanks to Brett, Klaudia and Scott for working so hard to prepare, plan and guide. Your seemingly tireless efforts were much appreciated to make for a trip that is on the list of "best things I have ever done".
To everyone else, just go there with Water By Nature!!

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank cmsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

The dining was brilliant Brett had the food and menu sorted out for a 7 day experience. plenty of salds and meat involved from salmon to beef steak

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franklin River Nature Trail also viewed

 
Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Franklin River Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing