We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water by Nature”

Franklin River Nature Trail
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Water by Nature”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Prior to the trip Stacy was wondering anxiously about three things - big rapids, toilet arrangements and being too cold. Ken was simply excited. Stacy's concerns were rapidly dispelled. Brett and Klaudia's expertise with the high tech rafts made the rapids just heaps of action packed fun. The toileting setup was ingenious. The wet suits and neoprene socks (the latter available cheaply at the briefing meeting) made us very comfortable despite several days of rain. The guides knowledge and obvious love of the river made for a wonderful trip - the river and scenery are simply stunning. The food was also a highlight. We find ourselves enthusiastically recommending the trip with Water by Nature to all our friends. A truly memorable experience!!

Water by Nature

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stacy796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“So incredible”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Tasmania is so beautiful the natural rain forests dating back millions of years ago
Abundant of Australian animals. Some dirt roads when off road but mostly bitumen roads
Beautiful scenery where ever you go.
Many snakes specially in the summer so be aware when trekking
The Franklin river untouched & spectacular. The waterfalls Nelson & Cradle mountain & Russell Falls. Lake Pedder at Strathgordon so peaceful not far from the Gordon Dam hydro electric station.
The whole of Tasmania is a must see.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrara, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Water by Nature and The Mighty Franklin”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I chose this company because of the wealth of experience by trip leader Brett. I had zero prior experience of white water rafting and was bringing along my 16 year old daughter so wanted a reputable, capable team. After his decades of travelling the length of the Franklin River Brett still shows a very healthy respect for this wild river, never under estimating and always expecting the unexpected. With his calm, quiet , lay back style I felt reassured that what could be controlled in this wild environment was, even though at times the ride was a literally wild, white knuckle experience, which by the way was exactly what I was after. Off the river my belly was constantly filled with the most amazing food conjured up by Brett and Klaudia on two small gas cookers. I was fascinated by what came out of the kitchen each night - garlic prawns, fillet steak, it never ceased to amaze me. At night I was comfortable and warm. The Franklin is unbelievably beautiful - this trip will remain one of the most memorable experiences of my life.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pip959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“White water rafting with WBN”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just do it. Franklin river is truely amazing and Brett,Claudia,Jim and Johno are the best of the best .A rafting trip you won't forget. My son and I did the 7day on Jan 4 - 11 the weather was cold and rainy for 2 days made the rapids exciting then beautiful sunshine wonderful time .Food was fantastic all great cooks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzanne-olive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great way to experience Tasmania’s wilderness!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The seven day full river Franklin Rafting trip with “Water by Nature” is an adventurous way to explore this remote area. Thanks to Brett and Klaudia you can’t get rid of the feeling that you stay in a five star hotel under the open sky. They offer a variety of good meals and snacks. The Franklin River changes its face during the trip a lot, from a raging torrent to a calm river. Nevertheless there are always things to do, like exploring caves or nearby waterfalls. From the sixth day on we could raft in the Inflatable Kayak which meant a lot of fun! Our camps were located next to the river and sleeping under the stars is an unforgettable experience. The beauty of the landscape is breathtaking all the way down the river. The good weather (around 30 degrees every day) allowed us to fly out by seaplane a nice way to farewell the Franklin. For the first time you realise how remote the area really is. To round off the trip the whole group met for dinner in a local restaurant in Hobart. I highly recommend the trip, it’s guaranteed that you’ll leave with unforgettable memories.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank uf_u_dervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franklin River Nature Trail also viewed

Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
 
Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
Tasmania, Australia
 

Been to Franklin River Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing