We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mighty Franklin River guided by the 'Water By Nature' Team.”

Franklin River Nature Trail
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The mighty Franklin River guided by the 'Water By Nature' Team.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Exploring the mighty Franklin River was an incredible and unforgettable experience with the Water By Nature Team – led by Jim Davis and Rob Jimmieson and I wish I was still out there lost in all its beauty. Jim and Rob shared their knowledge and love of the river with us through-out our entire journey.

Also, Jim’s culinary skills completely blew me away as every meal was prepared with the freshest of local produce - herbs and spices too! I have fallen in love with the Franklin and will be forever grateful for the experiences and challenges that it offered me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KC0llins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
2,603 reviews
1,418 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,365 helpful votes
“Low key walk...mighty impact by a stunning river.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

There are exotic ways to experience the mighty Franklin. Helicopter,light plane,canoe and white- water rafting. But its only on foot that you appreciate fully the value of this wonderland.
Unlike longer hikes or walks that resemble an assault on the Amazon,this walk is an easy,short hop of a nature-trail. Its a great introduction to the famous Franklin River,at the heart of conservation battles in 1982-3,that changed attitudes of governments and people towards the sensitive environment.
We found the trail easy,more like a walk- in- the- park,as we wound our way through stunning,cool-temperate rainforest and came close to Surprise river. Love that name,don't you?
This is some of the wildest country in Tasmania and downstream the Franklin descends some amazing ravines. Use every toilet break available as this is part of bush folklore. There is one where the Lyell highway crosses the river. The nature trail leads off the south side of the road to form a loop from which its great to sit by the river under the myrtles and enjoy the surroundings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hire the seaplane and land on the River amazing”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

"we were in Strahan Last week .Mum Dad and 3 kids 1 ,7,11 . The seaplane ride out and down the remote Gorden River was an unbeliveable experiance . we were lucky the weather was perfect. the pilot flew low down along the 9 metre wide gorge and then lands on the river. we then walked thru the most beautiful untoched forrests to a hidden waterfall . words fail me . it is a absolute must do ! I Took my 11 year old son too and its a momnmet we will never forget . we also did the river criuse which was also well worth it Make sure you go on the red boat . it has a great kids room (toys dvd books etc ) . we stayed at Renison Cottages (the Blue House) which we could not fault Two Bedrooms HUge bath fully equiped .The kids loved the huge plasma. We were in strahan for four nights which we think was perfect . there is also a wilderness railway track which was fantastic it follows the river back to queenstown. the views out the windows are fantastic . It was full when we went and a bit crowded with old peolpe who werent very frieldy towards kids having fun ! The road in to Strahan from hobart is one of the best drives in Tasmania . the sheer size of the forrests and the hundreds of hairpins bends and cliffs is not for the fainthearted . A unbeliable view awaits you arround every corner. the landscape that hits you when you arrive at queenstown is a eye popper ! cheers paul"read less

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pafito77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Water by Nature”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

In January this year my brother and I were fortunate to have the opportunity to experience this truly inspiring wilderness with the godfather of the river and his exceptional team.

Having grown up in Tassie and experienced so much of what this beautiful island has to offer for those who love the wilderness it has been on the cards for many years to tackle this big one. We have both travelled the world on adventures and worked as guides in one capacity or another and the consensus is that this trip with this crew was up there with the best.

The deep knowledge of the guides help make the experience on and off (sometimes in) the Franklin River exhilaratingly tranquil. While there are inherent dangers in the activity and being wet cold and exhausted par for the course, ending each day with delicious food and good company made it special. The chance to recap on the highs and lows, while in the most remarkable camping spots, knowing that there were others tackling the river in other groups who weren't so fortunate made us aware that we had made the right call to join the Water by Nature team.

Happy paddling.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Exhilarating Adventure.”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

One of the most memorable holidays we've ever had, the river being both physically demanding and rewarding in its natural beauty. We booked with Rafting Tasmania which operates out of Hobart. Graham, the charming and somewhat eccentric founder put us into the hands of two very capable, charming and patient guides, and the next five days were just a dream.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franklin River Nature Trail also viewed

Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
 
Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
Tasmania, Australia
 

Been to Franklin River Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing