We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Bridestowe Lavender Estate

The lavender was out of season, but looking over the grounds was still nice enough. The visitors... read more

Reviewed 28 July 2021
CodyMav
,
Gold Coast, Australia
Highly recommended

Crossing the river at Batman bridge, and driving for miles, past countless road-kill, through back... read more

Reviewed 3 June 2021
normanp311
,
Australia
Read all 564 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tasmania
from USD 25.20
More Info
from USD 582.87
More Info
from USD 30.55
More Info
from USD 109.67
More Info
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
164
196
97
42
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
196
97
42
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavender ice cream full bloom rows and rows flowering season gift store beautiful sight scones guided tour free entry hand cream morning tea purple field farm harvesting soaps launceston
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2019

Bridestowe Lavender Farm is a fantastic place to visit. I took a photography tour to visit in January when the fields were in full bloom. It was absolutely spectacular!

We were given breakfast which was fruit, lavender scones {delicious} and tea and coffee on the verandah after we took as many pics as we possibly could!! Thank you JILL...you are a wonderful cook and we can't thank you enough!

After that, we were given a private tour of the distillery and the back end of the operation by one of the managers. This tour was detailed and in depth.

This is a fabulous place to visit and I can't recommend it highly enough...

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank ChristineBernasconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

I visited the farm about lunchtime at the end of December and by the time we reached the cafe, nearly all menu items were sold out. My family ordered the corn frittatas, and I asked for a gluten-free and dairy-free salad to be prepared. The salad that arrived was very plain, and had no dressing. We spoke to the owners (just ran into them in the gift shop), and they said it gets incredibly busy during the Christmas and New Year period, and the kitchen cannot prepare that much food at once.

After that we went for a walk and looked for the cats that we had hears about. One staff member pointed us around the back of a shed, but we were not able to see any. We ran into another staff member who was very friendly and showed us how the lavender is processed in the shed, and gave us plenty of information about the lavender plant. Overall the farm was beautiful, and staff were friendly.

My tip is get there for opening or very early if you want to eat lunch.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank alicove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2019

When we visit it 23 years ago, it was in December and the lavenders were in full bloom. It was worth a 5-star. However, this time we visit it in February and the lavenders had been harvested and there was not much to see. We ate lavender ice cream and it found it interesting. We also bought lavender products.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Peng Boon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

If you are a lavender fan this is the place you must definitely visit. During the blooming season you get to see the whole fields of purple lavender and there is also lavender ice cream and lavender related souvenirs to buy home.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank abbyx2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2019

We spent three+ weeks in Australia, including one week in Tasmania.
Our experience was amazing throughout with the exception of the Bridestowe Lavender Estate. A genuine tourist trap. We were charged $10 each just to visit their gift shop.
We told them that we only wanted to visit their gift shop and obtain some of their lavender ice cream. Was told we would see blooming lavender. Not. What was left of the blossoms were colorless and were being cut. The lavender ice cream, while a beautiful color, lacked any flavor.
Lavender fields in Norfolk England are free to visit and their ice cream is superb.
Avoid Bridestowe Lavender Estate in Tasmania.

Date of experience: January 2019
16  Thank DavidandDenise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews