We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to go to when farm is in full bloom..”

Bridestowe Lavender Estate
Ranked #759 of 666 things to do in Tasmania
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bridestowe Lavender Estate is one of the world's largest fine lavender farms. It grows, harvests and distills over 120 acres of the world's most desirable lavender in picturesque rows, all open to the public. There is an onsite cafe, retail and vistor facilities with ample parking and easy access. The shop and cafe feature a range of unique, lavender focused products, gifts and food available for purchase All parts of the farm are open for visitors to explore. The farm is open for visitors year round (however please check our website for opening hours) Flowering is typically in the months of December and January (please note: during the flowering period a A$10 entry fee per person may be applied) and harvesting and distillation also takes place during that period. Guided farm tours are provided during the peak season, although tours can be arranged by prior arrangement with the farm. Free entry year-round (and 10% off online orders) can be obtained by joining our "Friends of Bridestowe" program and bringing the confirmation email to our gate at time of entry. Bridestowe has more recently become famous as the home of "Bobbie the Bear" who is soon to star in his own children's TV series and is proud to be the face of the current Tasmanian Safe Driving campaign
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice to go to when farm is in full bloom..”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The lavender farm when in full bloom is a lovely site and for that purpose this is should not be missed. However unless you are planning for a picnic there is not much to do. The gift shop is fine but overpriced.

The entry fee was also a bit over the top. I can agree with an entry fee but it should be more reasonable than $7 per person.

Overall good for a one time visit if you have time but when the lavenders are in full bloom.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mysticraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    115
    67
    26
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Sight of the Beautiful Lavender is so Overwhelming”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I have been wanting to see the Lavender Farm for years, but all the photos I had seen did not prepare me for the sheer beauty of it all. We had a lovely time, walking amongst the lavenders, tasting the lavender food in the tearoom & of course buying up big. Don't worry about trying to pack all your purchases, as the staff will happily arrange for it to be posted home to you.
If you intend to visit Bridestowe during flowering time, to avoid paying the entrance fee, visit their website www.bridestowelavender.com.au, sign up to be a Friend of Bridestowe (it's free), a few months before you intend to travel. All you need to do is print off one of the e-newsletters you receive, & you gain free entry. That's what we did. Well worth the visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank PVCAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-east Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I think it is worthwhile visiting at least once”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The drive out to Bridestowe is along a road that gets pretty narrow and windy towards the end, but through some beautiful bushland and small towns (particularly Lilydale and also various vineyards). Before we arrived I was starting to wonder about the sense of going so far, but when we'd paid our $7 each entry fee and after we parked in the carpark on top of a rise and we saw the 106 hectares of Lavender fields spread out below us I think it was worth it. We spent a couple of hours there, had afternoon tea at the restaurant and browsed the gift shop before taking a stroll among the lavender. We tried the lavender tea and lavender vanilla icecream and really enjoyed our afternoon. The views are terrific, particularly of various views of lavender with Mount Arthur in the background that features on a lot of tourist brochures, and even reading the information they provide about lavender and the farm was all interesting. All in all I enjoyed the trip, although I had difficulties later on when doing wine-tasting at our next winery, that the smell of lavender had permeated my system and I was still tasting lavender for a few hours afterwards :-) I'd recommend visiting Bridestowe at least once.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassielad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't bother”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

can't agree with the two bad reviews in here enough. this place is a complete waste of time and money. the entry fee of $7 per person to see a gift shop and lavender field is truely astonishing.

a group of us went in thinking there must be something special about this place, but were seriously disappointed to find our money had just been to gain entry to what amounts to an overpriced shop and a large field or lavender in bloom. while the lavender itself was beautiful, charging visitors $7 for the experience is just plain robbery and not worth the money.

i hope this review helps other would be visitors to make a decision about visiting, because if we had of known this we certainly wouldn't have paid and entered.

the owners and staff at bridestowe should be be seriously embarrassed at this "attraction". i certainly was.

Helpful?
4 Thank foxicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“waste of money”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

what a rip off. we went to bridestowe not knowing much other than it was a lavender farm, as we were just driving past from a different attraction in the area. after a little hesitation over the entry fee of $7 per person (and three people in our car), we decided to pay and go in, figuring there must be something to the exorbitant charge in the form of other attractions. no, $7 grants you just a view of the lavender fields themselves, and that's it - something you can do from a postcard or magazine brochure. $10 per car or $2 to $3 per person would be a more acceptable fee.

and to add insult to injury, the price of all the goods inside the cafe/gift shop were an absolute rip off too. we weren't stupid enough to buy anything there and contribute to the farms mega funds, and thankfully so too. my partner wanted some lavender goods but with better judgement decided not to make a purchase, only to find the same products sold at gift shops in other locations were somewhat cheaper.

i would not recommend this place as a stopping point unless you don't mind parting with your hard earned cash for little gain. while the lavender fields are nice, they are definitely not worth the high price asked at the gate. save your money and go somewhere where you recieve something for your money. very very disappointed

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank warren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridestowe Lavender Estate also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Bridestowe Lavender Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing