We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, tasteful, and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Drift away ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Spacious open plan living
Dine to water views
Relax in comfort
Harmony
Sparkling new kitchen
Master bedroom
2-way bathroom
Kestrel Downs - stunning bird's eye view to the Southern Ocean
Flying fish welcome
Relax on the verandah
Shy visitors at our bird bath
Northern aspect
Verandah view - glorious sunrise over Pelican Lagoon
A tranquil spot
Feathered friends at our bird bath
Stonework in local limestone
Spring time at Kestrel downs
Spring time at Kestrel Downs
Walk across Kestrel Downs to climb the towering dune of Prospect Hill
Our local beach - beautiful Pennington Bay
Evening at Pennington Bay
Early morning at Pennington Bay
Morning light, Pennington Bay
Walk quietly - endangered Hooded Plovers at Pennington Bay
Residents of our local habitat, Pelican Lagoon
Black Swans at Pelican Lagoon - our local habitat
Calm waters of nearby Island Beach
Wander the serene Cannery Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
NYgrapegu...
Geneva, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tasteful, and relaxing”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The house is tastefully appointed, in a beautiful and location that is within convenient driving distance from the ferry, Kingscote, and American River. Wonderful views, very quiet (you can't see or hear any other houses) and relaxing, with abundant wildlife. Rolling over in bed at daybreak to look out the window at the wallaby convention mere meters away was just one of the many special things that we experienced. KI is a magic place, and this puts you right into the heart of it. Plus, Sally was great to work with. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara G
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Relax in style and comfort”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A lovely place to enjoy the view, the wildlife and the comfort of a great holiday house.
The fireplace was a bonus on a cold evening, the kitchen was great for cooking and the beds were very comfortable. Drinks on the verandah in the evening with the birds and wallabies was special. Loved the island and all its attractions and the locals were great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and comfort
Liked least: Access from the road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could have stayed forever - beautiful house in a spectacular location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Can't say enough about this wonderful house! Central to all of the spectacular things Kangaroo Island has to offer but once you arrive at Kestrel Downs you feel as though the outside world has disappeared completely. The house was beautifully presented and appointed with everything you could possibly want - good sized bedrooms (with very comfy beds!), lovely big bathroom and beautiful spacious kitchen and living area. The views were amazing, so much so that even though we were on holidays, most days we got up before daylight, took our coffees out onto the verandah and watched the sun coming up over the water. Late afternoons and evenings found us in the same location watching the blue wrens and other wildlife enjoying themselves in this wonderful place. Kestrel Downs is a credit to its owners and we hope they will allow us to return next year. Our next stay will definitely be longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil, peaceful feeling that comes with the house and it's location.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina-Step...
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A relaxing hideaway that reflects the charm of the island.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We loved the location, easy to find, beautiful surrounding beaches and peace and quiet.
All the comforts of home and lovely log fire.
Large kitchen and comfortable beds.
Our whole experience of KI was wonderful and returning each day after our sightseeing of the island during the day was welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the surrounds and the quiet during the night.
Liked least: No dislikes at all. All positive.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia and Boulder, Colorado USA
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing