We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge Dbl Room: Basic but unique and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flinders Chase Farm Stay
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We booked the lodge double room with own bathroom. The bathroom was open air but we had our privacy. The room itself was furnished with a queen bed and site tables. No wardrobe or carbinet thus language need to placed on the floor. All over it was a clean room. Note all water comes from a water tank outside so it smells a bit but it is clean to cook with it. Kitchen facilities are used but clean however we brought our own pots and pan.
BYO food and drinks and cash to pay. Also everything on KI is overpriced.
Location of the farm is great as it is in the center of the island and maybe a 15 min drive to the main visitor center where you need to buy day tickets for the park.
On the farm you will find heaps of big kangaroos there are just a few meters away from you where you will sit and eat.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spatzen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Flinders Chase Farm Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2011

Good hostel. In reaction to former reviews: in backpackers world, the hostel owners are sometimes inpolite, but usually ok and not especially friendly. If you want excellent service, try to find a very good hostel (they're rare but they're there) or check in in a lovely hotel (i.e. pay more).
This hostel is just fine. You get what you pay for. I loved the kitchen and showers. Clean. One sink in the bathroom is not enough. Beautifully situated. I do recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifulworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn M, Manager at Flinders Chase Farm Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
Yes one sink per bathroom is not enough and I will ensure a second sink and mirror is fitted.
Regards
Kerryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

The location is nice and the rooms are pretty neat. The problem was the bugs. The ceiling is just aluminum which allowed for tons of ants (I think?) to crawl in and end up all along the edges of the bed and on the wall and even in the shower. They could be swept off and didn't bite or bother, but I found it very uncomfortable to share my room and bed with so many insects.
In respect to other areas, the kitchen facilities were quite nice, and they even had campfire pits.The bathrooms are kinda outside but attached to the rooms, with natural sunlight, and we found the water to be plenty warm when desired. The heater was difficult to work and didn't keep the room very warm, but then most hostels do not provide heat so this was not a big issue.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claraGirlTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn M, Manager at Flinders Chase Farm Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
Yes bugs & insects are seasonal for us here and fortunately does not last long.
Generally the insects are attracted to the lights so turning them off in your roof is helpful if not in use.
But the outside, security and community shared lights are most of the time left on for the benefit of all guests. It is a tricky one to manage as we do not use any chemical deterents.
Heater instructions will be more understandable and we find that if all curtains in rooms are closed it does help keep room warm. Extra blankets can be obtained from reception if needed aswell.
Regards
Kerryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Stayed in the hostel for one night in January in a twin room. Our first impression was the woman who checked us in who was polite, but not friendly at all. Our room was ok, but it was clear that cleanliness was not a high priority in the hostel which is too bad. The common area with a TV and a table was nice with wood on the walls, but not great. The kitchen is small and easily crowded. A stereo is provided in the kitchen, but no noise policy is provided. We were there at the same time as a large group and they wanted to play the radio very loud all evening. The bathrooms only have one sink and two toilets in both the mens and womens bathrooms. These represent all of the facilities for up to 22 guest in the hostel and the cabins.

Overall, it was a very convenient place to stay. However, I would probably not stay in the hostel again and instead would look for other options.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn M, Manager at Flinders Chase Farm Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
I am sorry to hear about your concern for the cleaniness of our accommodation. Cleaniness is very high for us and I appologise for your discomfort, this is an exception and not the rule for cleaniness.

In regards to our hostel bathrooms, we have two toilets and two showers in both shared female amd male bathrooms. We believe this is the correct number required for bathroom amenities for the number of guests at full occupancy in our hostel. Tho an extra basin will be fitted in each bathroom. We appologise for any inconvenience a guest experiences for wait time while other guests are using the shared facilities.

Noise levels generally have not been a issue, we have found most of our guests are considerate of each other. On the rare occasions that we have had to deal with loud nosie levels those concerned have been understandable and have kept their noise at a respectfull level. We are more than happy to intervene on behalf of guests if asked.
Regards
Kerryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed in a double cabin for 1 night. The cabin had basic kitchen facilities & the bathroom facilities were shared. The location is just off the main road, but is very peaceful. The two dogs were very friendly, almost too friendly! The 'tropical' bathrooms were clean & there were outside bbqs that we could have used.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank katherinious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn M, Manager at Flinders Chase Farm Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank You for your review, it is much appreciated.

Yes, some times our visitors, friends and workers dogs do behave in an excitable manner. Generally all of them are aware of our dog policy which is to make sure dogs behave and are restrained in a suitable manner for the benefits and safety of our guests. this is a rare occurrence.
regards
Kerryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
7.3 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
78.3 km away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
7.2 km away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
#21 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
27 reviews
77.8 km away
Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse
Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse
#15 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
49 reviews
40.7 km away
The Open House
The Open House
#1 of 1 in Parndana
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flinders Chase Farm Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Chase Farm Stay

Address: 1561 West End Hwy | Karatta, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: $74 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flinders Chase Farm Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Flinders Chase Farm Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing