We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“total disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers paradise
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“total disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

visited here last year and have been travelling so this review is late.We enjoy "high end" resort experiences and don't mind paying for good environments and service but this lodge failed to meet our expectations at every level.Rooms food and service all poor with lack of care and attention.Room not serviced properly,mould in shower and shabby.
Food not at the standard from dirt in lettuce to blood running out of rare pork,staff had a couldn't care less attitude towards complaints. the external environment the ocean and landscape were spectacular the only high point.I would recommend Saffire Lodge Tasmania over this property any day

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank dnacingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah1971_9, Owner at Southern Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear "Dnacing Queen"

Whilst we appreciate all valid feedback, it is certainly unfortunate that you have chosen to post this review some 5 months after your stay with us. As you know I was made aware of your concerns in our head office at the end of your stay at the Lodge and spent considerable time discussing your concerns with your husband, investigating and then responding with feedback post stay. Our Lodge team members also tried painstakingly to work through your issues at the time. I am perplexed as to the rationale of posting this review now.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, has different expectations and generally will have a different perspective on a standard or issue. In our case readers will note that the key points noted in this review of Staff, Food, Service and Rooms are all ranking incredibly highly both currently and also over the period of this guest stay in September 2011. As we all know everyone has a bad day at times, no matter the property and in our case we are always very gracious to accept constructive comments. In this situation we do take exception given our otherwise generally excellent feedback and are amazed at the lack of enjoyment of this celebrated and awarded property.

To offer readers some further background we note as follows;

Our Lodge was only 3.5 years old at the time of this review and at a cost of more than $1.5M per room it could hardly be called shabby! The assertion of mould is incorrect and more likely relates to our signature sandblasted white limestone bathrooms which are organic in look and feel. The background re the housekeeping comments relate to our 100% Belgian Linen pillow cases, which you queried our housekeeper on being changed - she explained that this was the look, again natural and organic, as opposed to starched, stiff and formal! When you were out on your 2nd day enjoying the wonders of KI, our maintenance team took the opportunity to "slip in" and touch up a nick of paint that had been noted in your robe area either from your bag or that of a previous guest, on return you commented on the smell. In hindsight we all agree that this was the wrong procedure and it should have been scheduled for after the suite was vacated. We did however immediately provide an alternate suite, which you then complained as being too close to the main complex, so our team then upgraded you to the only other available suite, in this case a 120sm Ocean Retreat Suite. In every case Lodge staff assisted with your belongings to avoid packing and unpacking.

In terms of the food we do pride ourselves on our standards and a quick scan of other reviews will not support these assertions as indicative of our standards - again this is likely to be more a combination of factors and personal taste. Our highly regarded Executive Chef was on leave your first couple of nights and it is unfortunate if there was any natural residue left in your salad, we can only apologise 5 months on. Our local organic pork is served pink as is now the contemporary trend, a simple request to the team would have had this rectified to your liking.
With regards to Saffire in Tasmania, my wife and I have enjoyed this Lodge immensely and agree that it is of exceptional standard. Many of our guests have stayed there enroute to Southern Ocean Lodge and as a general rule it is a close match as to the winner! Each to their own I guess!

As passionate hoteliers that have personally created a globally acclaimed Lodge such as this we hope that other readers place this review into the appropriate context. We also encourage other recent guests to provide their own feedback by way of comparison to the issues raised.

Sincerely | James & Hayley Baillie, Lodge Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    27
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
70
410
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife and six year old daughter had a wonderful time at Southern Ocean Lodge. The rooms are very large, wonderfully appointed and have great views of the ocean. Take a stroll down to the beach and make sure to book an excursion (or two) with Exceptional Kangaroo Island tours which can be booked through the hotel. Our Tour of Flinders Chase was a once in a lifetime experience. The communal bar/lounge area is very nice and the restaurant was incredible. We look forward to our happy return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean retreat and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlickWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I was happy to pay the $1800 a night in the end because this property is so amazing and Australia needs more resorts pushing the envelope. This price tag should equal 6 star and I'm not sure it made it when comparing to other properties around the world at this price. The rooms are sparse but blend with the environment, the lounge and dining rooms are really beautiful and the service great - being called by our first names was a really nice touch and I'm sure they google all their guests to help make it a very personal experience! If you take advantage of all the tours on offer as part of the room rate the value certainly does improve. And the food is great and changes daily. The open bar is a great concept and the wine was good quality. We hired a car for the visit and spent some wonderful time at the islands Northern beaches - a must. Would I go back? Yes if the price was about 50% lower as I think for $1000 a night for the room it would have been right on the money.

Room Tip: The closer to the reception area the less time u will spend walking a very long and uphill corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This has to be the best hotel in the world. Starting with it's wonderful locaion, thoughtful design, sustainable principles, brillant food and fantastic wine - but best of all wonderful staff. It's a long way from Cambridge UK but we will go back

Room Tip: It depends on whether you want exercise - chose the lower numbered rooms or to be close to wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank segmaniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

It would suffice to describe the expressions of the guests arriving to the Lodge.
Their face expresses all the magnificence of the place when they see the view from the inside of this wonderful meeting hall surrounded by nature of KI
An Amazing experience.That's all
An amazing service .That's all

Room Tip: Room on the south side are big quiter and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francesco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
8.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
83.4 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
89.4 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
105.2 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
82.3 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
118.0 km away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price range (per night): $2,061 - $2,435
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing