We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
30
70
54
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
70
54
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan parkstayed heresri lankan chefpub style mealsfried ricedump pointthe ground floorhotel motelroom was cleanarrived latereception stafffree wificlose to towngood sizewould stay againpowered siteplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018

After 10 hr drive from Adelaide, we arrived to this hotel last Monday evening and spent one night. Upon arriving in to the lobby for checked-in, a lady came from nowhere and served us very unfriendly way, informing that our room was not ready and it would take few minutes, but we had to wait outside more than half an hour and meantime, there were a big queue for checked-in and most of the people were frustrated.To be honest the lady, who served to people not quit pleasant, lack of customer service.
Frankly, the room met our expectation, neat and clean, but the air-conditioner made lot of noise.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tracypastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi Tracypastra,

We apologise that you had to wait for your room that evening. This is our peak season so it does become hard to be able to ensure all rooms are done early enough during the day. But as you noted they were up to standard and pleasant.
We also apologies about the staff member that served you wasn't more pleasant but due to the hectic booking times she was probably a little bit stressed. Management will take this up with her.

Regards,
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

My husband and I dined in at the Opal Inn and had a very enjoyable meal. Loved the menu, with a variety of options not just the usual pub tucker! I had fish and chips (because I was hanging out for seafood!) and my husband had the seafood noodle dish. We also had the oreo cheesecake. Our main courses were lovely, but the cheesecake was not homemade. Topped it all off with coffee, and can't complain. Would recommend!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi Janet B,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
It is great to hear you had enjoyed your night.
I will defiantly pass along this review to appropriate staff members.

Happy safe travels and if you're ever in Coober Pedy again, be sure to drop in and say G'Day

Regards,
front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

The room was dingy and stinking,toilets were not flushing. We asked for a change of room, Hotel manager (still don't believe he's the manager - guy was wearing short and did not look professional at all) offered a discount on rate but we requested full refund so we could leave that living hell right away

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank RickC2630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi Rick C,

Have you gotten the right motel?
There is no record of any incident like this, and if it was brought the the attention of reception staff it would have been found or dealt with accordingly.
After speaking to management, if you would like to discuss this matter further you are more than welcome to call on 08 8672 5054, they would be glad to sort the matter out, as our rooms are not dingy, they are very well maintained and quite open as a big window is in all rooms. as for toilets not working, none of our toilets have ever had issues such as that.
With the thousands of guests we have had stay with us this year so far, not one complaint has ever been like this.

Regards,
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

We checked in to the Opal Inn today and found that there was a bit of a problem with the booking we'd made online. They found our booking and more that compensated for the mix up. Annette was absolutely awesome in helping us and their Hospitality was incredible. Will definitely be staying here again if we return to Coober Pedy. We have our own van. The toilets and amenities are clean. Walking distance into the town and shopping strip.
The food was sensational. The chocolate mudcake was to die for and my husband said it was the best passionfruit cheesecake he's had. Chips were hard stop eating!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 366Louises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi 366Louises,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel.

It is an absolute please to hear that you have had not only an excellent stay but an enjoyable time here as well.
I will defiantly let all staff know that their hard work hasn't gone unnoticed. :)

Safe travel's, and we look forward to seeing you next time you come stay with us in Coober Pedy.


Regards
Kirstie,
Front Office reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to get away from the busy lifestyle in big cities; great location. After 10 hours drive from Adelaide, we wanted somewhere to have a nice meal to make us full. Hotel restaurant was too busy, but the staff was great. restaurant menu had different cuisines which suit anyone's taste. we had butter chicken and stake which were delicious and authentic. well done.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter111grander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Hi Peter111grander,

Thank you so much for such a positive review of both your hotel and bistro experience, we appreciate it. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Georgie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews