We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
30
70
54
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
70
54
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan parkstayed heresri lankan chefpub style mealsfried ricedump pointthe ground floorhotel motelroom was cleanarrived latereception stafffree wificlose to towngood sizewould stay againpowered siteplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

we had no plans to stay in Coober pedy, but our car broke down, so the raa man suggested the Opal inn (I think it was the closest accomodation to where we were towed to) It was $170 per night, so we were expecting something half decent. Seriously let down. Not really sure where to start. The "noisier than a jet engine taking off" window air-conditioner, which is either off or on. Very effective, but we could not get any sleep with it on.And then the room quickly got too hot to sleep when it was off. The fridge stank, as it was turned off at the wall. Decor-something straight out of the late 70's/early 80's. To be quite honest, I didnt want to stay there from the second I opened the door..it was dark, dingy, looked dirty, and I was really worried I was going to catch something from the bedding. We actually got the towels from the bathroom, and slept on those, rather than the grotty looking sheets/pillows. One of the beds was very saggy. In the bathroom, it was clean-ish. Just very old/stained looking. Glass windows have been painted for privacy. Powerpoints were behind the bed, so you have to have the bed out from the wall to charge phone, use a hairdryer, etc. The complementary shortbreads, whilst still in date, tasted rancid..I am guessing from the heat. The only reason we got any sleep was because we went to the on-site bottle shop, and bought a bottle of gin which we then proceeded to drink.

Room Tip: if you want a good room...probably best to stay in the caravan park
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank connief68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi Connie,

Not sure where to start.. Sorry that our hotel was the first choice of your insurance provider but we did our best to accommodate you at such short notice (being a hot weekend in peak season here in Coober Pedy).

I have checked our books and note that there was no complaint/maintenance request filed with Front Office in regards to any of the issues mentioned above. We would have moved rooms or attended to anything that was troubling you at the time if it was brought to our attention. It is always best to notify the Hotel of any issues during the stay instead of after the fact. While we may be dated, we are clean and take pride in ensuring our guests have a pleasant stay while here in Coober Pedy.

In saying this, we do take your comments regarding most of the above seriously, and will look at implementing changes in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is clean and tidy and has most things you require including iron and hair dryer which in some hotel- motels I have stayed in did not. It is a reasonably basic room but value for money compared to what you need to pay for better accomodation. The meals in the hotel bistro are as good as any country pub. Friendly service and reasonable wine selection.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Ian K

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it benefits us as well as future travellers. We hope to see you again.

Georgie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Very Comfortable, clean room, fully equipped with all you need for your stay. Quiet at night - maybe too quiet! Lots to keep you interested throughout the town with various tours available. Food outlets very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheilafife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi Sheilafife

Thank you very much for your review of our property. Quiet is good at the moment, it means you have just beat the season - which is about to start soon, and had the town to yourself. We hope you stop in again, and maybe get a chance to do a tour or two.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We were travelling north from Adelaide to Alice Springs and stopped for the night in Coober Pedy. We took a campsite in the Opal Inn's caravan park.
The caravan park offered a good size site for our motorhome close to the washroom/shower/ laundry facility. It was safe and secure as well.
Coober Pedy is right out there in the Outback - lots of dirt for miles and around Coober Pedy, many opal mines. The landscape is dotted with dirt hills from these mines. IN contrast, the Opal Inn was a breath of fresh air! We were in the Inn itself only to register but in just that short amount of time, I could see it was a great place - that breath of fresh air from the other places in the area.
I doubt I'll ever be back through Coober Pedy again but it was worth it to stop and stay and look around just once!
IF I am back there, I'll be looking to stay at the Opal Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_aka_Pricerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Don_aka_Priceman

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and a great one at that. We have been, and are still in the middle of, doing renovations at our Caravan Park so it is nice to have the work done so far appreciated. We hope the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable

Georgie
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Family room with one queen bed and three singles. Two rooms, one with TV and basic kitchen. Microwave, small fridge, sink and minimal plates and cutlery. Quite spacious, with a double lounge, four chairs and a table.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank knewton112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hello 'knewton112"

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our family rooms are extra spacious as we know how stressful long trips can be. We hope to see you this way again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews