We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
30
70
54
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
70
54
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan parkstayed heresri lankan chefpub style mealsfried ricedump pointthe ground floorhotel motelroom was cleanarrived latereception stafffree wificlose to towngood sizewould stay againpowered siteplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is clean and tidy and has most things you require including iron and hair dryer which in some hotel- motels I have stayed in did not. It is a reasonably basic room but value for money compared to what you need to pay for better accomodation. The meals in the hotel bistro are as good as any country pub. Friendly service and reasonable wine selection.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Ian K

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it benefits us as well as future travellers. We hope to see you again.

Georgie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Very Comfortable, clean room, fully equipped with all you need for your stay. Quiet at night - maybe too quiet! Lots to keep you interested throughout the town with various tours available. Food outlets very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheilafife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi Sheilafife

Thank you very much for your review of our property. Quiet is good at the moment, it means you have just beat the season - which is about to start soon, and had the town to yourself. We hope you stop in again, and maybe get a chance to do a tour or two.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We were travelling north from Adelaide to Alice Springs and stopped for the night in Coober Pedy. We took a campsite in the Opal Inn's caravan park.
The caravan park offered a good size site for our motorhome close to the washroom/shower/ laundry facility. It was safe and secure as well.
Coober Pedy is right out there in the Outback - lots of dirt for miles and around Coober Pedy, many opal mines. The landscape is dotted with dirt hills from these mines. IN contrast, the Opal Inn was a breath of fresh air! We were in the Inn itself only to register but in just that short amount of time, I could see it was a great place - that breath of fresh air from the other places in the area.
I doubt I'll ever be back through Coober Pedy again but it was worth it to stop and stay and look around just once!
IF I am back there, I'll be looking to stay at the Opal Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_aka_Pricerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Don_aka_Priceman

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and a great one at that. We have been, and are still in the middle of, doing renovations at our Caravan Park so it is nice to have the work done so far appreciated. We hope the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable

Georgie
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Family room with one queen bed and three singles. Two rooms, one with TV and basic kitchen. Microwave, small fridge, sink and minimal plates and cutlery. Quite spacious, with a double lounge, four chairs and a table.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank knewton112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hello 'knewton112"

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our family rooms are extra spacious as we know how stressful long trips can be. We hope to see you this way again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Only stay here if its your very last resort.
Advertised price $115 they charged us $135
Queen size bed was a double.
The Air con Unit made a loud bang every 5 mins and at 40 degrees was very necessary.
Finally got to sleep out of sheer exhaustion, Then was woken by cockroaches crawling over my face.
Phones couldn't Wi Fi .
Someone had used a coffee cup and ate our biscuits. probably the unfriendly staff.
Room stunk of smoke.

Room Tip: 72 extremely noisy
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ToniaIannd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Good Morning ToniaIannd,
We are sorry to hear about your stay. it is never good to hear a review such as this.
I will be arranging for this to be looked into immediately.
As we do appreciate the time any guest has take to review our motel it is always good for us to know any issues at the time so it is easier for us to rectify any dramas straight away, instead of letting any guest spend the night uncomfortable.
Again, apologies for the stay you have experienced.
Regards,
House Keeping Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews