We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
30
70
54
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
70
54
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan parkstayed heresri lankan chefpub style mealsfried ricedump pointthe ground floorhotel motelroom was cleanarrived latereception stafffree wificlose to towngood sizewould stay againpowered siteplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Large, clean bistro with good range of food and drinks at reasonable prices. Friendly staff, free WiFi as well as several TVs around the walls. Chicken Kiev was very good with nice salad and excellent chips. Salmon was very good as was the broccoli and sweet potato mash. Rest of vegetables were soggy. No offer of free bread. Very good value for money and happy to recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi Steven H,

We are so glad to hear that you have had an excellent dining experience with us.
At the Opal Inn we do strive to have a relaxed but professional and welcoming environment for all our customers including those with families.
I will also be sure to pass on your positive review to the kitchen as I am sure they will appreciate hearing such positive feedback.
We hope to see you again next time you are here. :)

Kind Regards,
Hotel Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stopped over in the way from Uluru to Lorne and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Opal Inn. Decent size rooms and comfortable. The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful. Very good and most recommended for a one or a two night stay. The restaurant has a decent menu too.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hi Vikas G,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially this time of year, during the holidays, as it can be a little bit busy for the hotel staff.
We hope to see you next time you are travelling through. We wish you happy and safe travels.
Kind Regards
Christine
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Clean, good sized room, much better than expected.
Room appointed reasonably.
Beds were comfortable and linens appropriate.
Parking right in front of the door so was very easy.
Friendly check in.
Thank you

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anya707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hi Anya707,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Opal Inn.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel. We appreciate the feedback from our guests.
Safe travels and we hope to see you again the next time you chose to travel back through Coober Pedy.

Kind regards
Kirstie
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Upon arriving in the lobby we were ignored by both staff members until they finally decided to acknowledge us. We asked how much a room was for two people for the evening and the young lady's response was "$135" so we said we'd look elsewhere first. After hearing this she said "Oh we can give you a room for $95."
Okay... so we asked for a quick look first - requesting a room with two single beds.
She sent us to a room with one single bed.
ANYWAY we get the room next door that she assures us has two singles beds - which it did. Unfortunately only two of the four lights in the room worked, the free wifi didn't work and my friend got suspiciously bitten when she sat on her bed.
So we went back to the young girl at reception and mentioned these things to her. She called her manager - don't know where he was, obviously too busy to help the poor girl who had three people waiting - and he told us to move to a different room.
We double check about the wifi not working and the response was "Oh, it doesn't always work in the 'budget' rooms, we can give you a room for $20 more if you want wifi."
Soooo the wifi isn't "free" as they advertise - it's actually $20 and its crap anyway.
OH and after moving all of our stuff to the new room - only 3 out of 4 lights worked anyway.
It was all a mess but also quite hilarious. Definitely don't stay there if you can help it.

Room Tip: Check the beds for bugs ;)
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emmabearhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hello Emmabearhunt,

Thank you for taking time to review our property. My apologies in the delay of responding, we have recently had a change in Front Office staff/management and are currently in the process of improving our proceedures etc.

Our wifi is free but as with most technology in remote places, needs a little patience when using it. The extra $20 you were referring was due to the increased room rate for the different room.

We can only apologise for any incovenience you may have had here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Toilet and shower look shady in the dark where the light is not bright enough. There is no common kitchen to use or hot water to make a cup of tea/ coffee.

But, have to say the staff are very friendly.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Colour Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi Colour Y,

Thank for taking the time to review our caravan park. I am sorry to hear that your stay was affected by the lighting in our premises, although it may look dark at night, we do have fluros and have cameras on site and in the surrounding streets to ensure guest safety. We do no have camp kitchen, we do have a BBQ on site, but we are looking at expanding facilities. I am grateful to hear though that you had a positive experience with our staff. We wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards,
Dylan
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews