We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
30
72
54
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
72
54
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan park stayed here sri lankan chef pub style meals fried rice dump point the ground floor hotel motel room was clean arrived late reception staff free wifi close to town good size would stay again powered site plenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Just had an amazing meal. It was the best Nasi Goreng I’ve had outside of Indonesia. A Sri Lankan chef makes a world of difference. Definitely will come again. Great price and great service. The drink list is extensive and city prices.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ncorn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi Ncorn27,

Thank you for your positive review. I am glad you enjoyed the Nasi Goreng, it receives a lot of positive feed back. i will defiantly pass your compliments onto our head Chef. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Dylan
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Very friendly staff.
Easy to check in and out.
Nice room.
Enjoyed our walk around Coober Pedy
Lovely view at Italo Club. Lovely food at Opal Inn. Thank you. We can highly recommend The Opal Inn Hotel Motel

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank simplelife62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front OfficeReception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Hi simplelife62,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad to hear you had a great experience in our town, most particularly that your stay with us was a good one. Our staff over all departments will be very pleased to hear. I will pass this message on to them.

We look forward to seeing you again if you come through Coober Pedy.

Kind regards,
Dylan
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

When we checked in our first impression was that the A/C was switched on and the room cool. Excellent! Not something many motels bother about.
Large spacey room, one queen sized bed and one single. Perfect after a 1,000 kl drive.
Clean bathroom.

One thing. They are cutting down the only tree there which gives shade and has survived the Coober Pedy heat. It deserves to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Paul B,

Thank you for your positive review, I am glad to see our housekeeping team planned ahead to turn your A/C on, as it was a very warm day yesterday. We are all upset about the tree too, it was nice to have for shade and to look at. Unfortunately, it was growing sideways and had started to pull up the concrete beneath it. For safety reasons it was determined it should be removed. On a positive note, we are awaiting the arrival of new plants purchased by our operations manager. We wish you safe and happy travels.

Kind regards,
Dylan
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Clean room and their restaurant was great. Will stay again as do the trip through regularly and will also recommend to friends to use the Inn. Bed was great as slept in the morning we stayed. Room for work trailer that we were towing

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jendog_1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi jendog_1954,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review on us.

I will certainly pass your positive feedback on to our housekeepers, who work hard to maintain the quality of the rooms. Our head chef also works hard, so he will be pleased to see you enjoyed your meals.

We do try to accommodate for requests such as larger vehicles or vehicles towing a trailer.

One of the biggest compliments you can give is passing on your positive feedback to family and friends, so thank you for that. It is greatly appreciated.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We definitely look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Dylan
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Needed somewhere to stay after many hours of driving, and with many more the day ahead. Found the accomodation quite dated, but extremely clean and very roomy. Staff were helpful. Bistro meal was fine and easy, and the 10% discount was a bonus. Overall good value for money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jodileesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hi jodileesa

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on us.

It's good to see that you got to experience the bistro (and with our bonus discount that we give to our valued guests).
I'm also glad to see that the staff were helpful; I like to think we've got a pretty good, friendly and helpful team here so it's good that they've not made a liar out of me.

With regards to your comment on the dated accommodation: I'd be interested to see what room you were in as most of them have been updated within the last five years. But thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of it. The Housekeeping team will be really happy to see this.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Hopefully we get to see you again if you find yourself out this way.

Kind regards
Ashley - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews