We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - right in town”
Review of Opal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opal Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We decided that staying in an underground room elsewhere was not for our budget.

Our room at the Opal Inn was clean and comfortable with little fridge and also TV.

The room was a comfortable temperature too and didn't need the air con

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sala5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi sala5000

Thanks for your review. I'm glad to see that you were able to find something that suited your budget and comfort right here in our hotel. Our rooms are quite comfortable and we are conveniently located so who could ask for more, really?
I hope you got the opportunity to take advantage of our facilities as well, such as our bistro, bar and/or gaming lounge?

Thanks again for your review. Hopefully we get to see you out this way again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Ashley - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Lovely friendly staff, room was clean and comfortable, the meal in the restaurant was superb, plenty of food on the menu to choose from, we were on the ground floor and could park at front door, would stay there again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eileen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi eileen d,

I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay enough to let others know you would return. Thank you. We do strive to provide excellent customer service and provide comfortable and clean rooms and facilities.

Our new head chef has been getting multiple positive comments, he has great presentation and provides quality meals, I am happy you were able to experience it.

We look forward to seeing you return if your travels happen to bring you through Coober Pedy again.

Kind Regards
Dylan
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The reception staff were most helpful. Our room was clean and large. The bathroom was spotless. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant - the new chef and the menu were excellent. The tour that we booked through reception was great value for money. Highly recommend the tour of the town along with the Breakaways, the Moonscape and the Dingo Fence. Two nights was not enough.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bernadettes181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi bernadettes181

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

I'm glad to see you had a wonderful stay.
Our team are constantly striving for 100% in everything they do: ranging from cleaning, to customer service so it's nice to see that this has been noticed and acknowledged. Thank you.
Our town is a surprising little gem isn't it? There always seems to be something to discover.
I hope you do manage to find your way back here again. It'll be a pleasure having you stay with us again.

Kind regards
Ashley - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Service was friendly and obliging. They were happy to cook me dinner even though I arrived as they were closing the kitchen. The room was comfortable and clean. Only problem was in accessing WiFi. I would give 3.8 if I could, just not quite 4.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrewcC3849WE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Reception at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi andrewcC3849WE

Thank you for your review.
I am glad to hear your positive experiences with our kitchen. They do work hard and we get good feedback on their services.
I am sorry to hear you had trouble with your Wi-Fi though; we are working on improving the quality of it which is taking us a little longer than anticipated.

Kind regards,
Dylan
Front Office Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in caravan park on the way to Ayers Rock, sites are difficult to work out which one you have. It's extremely dusty amenities are clean although the showers are terrible, water pressure is a dribble. You better of staying in a free camp either side of town if you are self sufficient.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Mike M
Sorry to see that you had such a bad time with us.
We are constantly striving for 100% guest satisfaction, so we do take on board any feedback provided.
We are working on the sites but we do rely on our guests to take the site we allocate them, rather than two sites back to back so they don't have to unhook. It's a work in progress.
I will look into the issue with the showers, but I believed that these were all fixed and in good working order. In fact, we received some feedback only a few days ago that the showers are good. It looks as though you may have been unfortunate to get one that could do with a new shower head. I'll definitely get this looked at.
Unfortunately, due to being in the desert, we are unable to do anything about the dust I'm afraid.
Again, I'm sorry to see you didn't enjoy your stay.
I hope you enjoy the rest of your journey.
Kind regards
Ashley - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
254 reviews
1.5 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
201 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.2 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
276 reviews
1.8 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Inn

Address: Lot 1 Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $115 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of the town of Coober Pedy in the heart of outback South Australia. It is a unique town with underground homes, restaurants, shops, churches and walk-in underground mines. Alice Springs is around 680 km away, and Adelaide is some 850 km away. This 80-room hotel is a popular destination in Coober Pedy, tourists come here, as much to holiday as to explore why this town is so famous amongst gemstone lovers. The air-conditioned hotel includes a lobby, bar, restaurant and conference facilities. Free car parking and free wifi is available to guests. The hotel offers a host of rooms and facilities for its various guests. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and feature with reverse cycle air conditioning systems and modern amenities, including a hairdryer, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Guests can have pre-dinner drinks at the bar and later dine at the in-house restaurant, the in-house kitchen can provide you with a sumptuous breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Opal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Inn Coober Pedy, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing