We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the desert”
Review of Opal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Opal Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed 3 July 2017

The Opal Inn is a value for money hotel in the middle of the South Australian outback. It's convenient and always accommodating our needs. We've always had excellent service and the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor - non smoking. This suits our needs.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi Terry B
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us: and such a nice one too.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. It's also good to see that we are consistent with the customer service we provide.
Hopefully you find your way out this way again.
Until then, safe travels!
Kind regards
Ashley - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

The hotel was full, but we ate in the restaurant here anyway, as we have stayed here before and it was good.
However this visit was somewhat spoilt by the surly barman, he was neither helpful or friendly and seemed to take offence at our presence. The food was ok and the restaurant was good, its a pity the staff wasn't.

Room Tip: Hotel was full we just used the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JackoMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Hi JackoMiddlesbrough
I'm terribly sorry that you had a poor experience at our bar (and that it has taken me so long to respond).
Do you remember the night (date) so I can investigate further and bring it to the attention of the Manager of that department?
Kind regards
Ashley - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Stayed here for an overnight stay on a trip from Adelaide to NT. Caravan Park is small but adequate. Good amenities and appreciated the bistro on site so didn't have to cook. Insisted on a drive through site as we were leaving early the next day. Suitable for longer stays.No grass - all dirt but water and power good. Central location so can walk to anything,

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ZorroAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opal_Inn, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Hi ZorroAdelaide
Thank you for your feedback.
I like to think that our caravan park is quaint. At the time of your stay we didn't have a fire pit or barbecue facilities so I hope you find your way back and staying with us to take advantage of these. A longer stay is definitely a good option as well: there is a surprising amount to see here.
We don't advertise as having drive thru sites, but we will try our best to accommodate where ever we can.
Kind regards
Ashley - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

I was sent to Coober for work, therefore didn't have to pay for my accommodation - which also means I don't get a choice.

We stayed for 4 nights. The room was clean and what you would expect for a normal motel room.

The shower was terrible, zero pressure! But that's the worst thing about the room.

We went to the restaurant / pub for dinner on the last night.
I ordered a chicken Hawaiian which came with heaaaaps of chips and a salad. It was a fairly decent meal. We also received discount because we were staying there which was a nice surprise.

We ate in the front bar and the staff brought all meals out to us.

Overall fairly good food for the desert and decent prices.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lorelieellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Very nice big room, extremely clean as were the grounds. Nice biscuits to have with your tea, not many motels have that now. Good mattresses Reception very good. The restaurant I was very impressed with as we had a long drive, did not feel a hundred percent and asked if I could have a spare plate just to have a nibble of my husband's menu as I was not at all hungry. Chef put a small portion on my plate and it was absolutely delicious. Nice touch, one that makes you come back. .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larisse79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
252 reviews
1.5 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
200 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.2 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
274 reviews
0.4 km away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Inn

Address: Lot 1 Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $134 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of the town of Coober Pedy in the heart of outback South Australia. It is a unique town with underground homes, restaurants, shops, churches and walk-in underground mines. Alice Springs is around 680 km away, and Adelaide is some 850 km away. This 80-room hotel is a popular destination in Coober Pedy, tourists come here, as much to holiday as to explore why this town is so famous amongst gemstone lovers. The air-conditioned hotel includes a lobby, bar, restaurant and conference facilities. Free car parking and free wifi is available to guests. The hotel offers a host of rooms and facilities for its various guests. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and feature with reverse cycle air conditioning systems and modern amenities, including a hairdryer, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Guests can have pre-dinner drinks at the bar and later dine at the in-house restaurant, the in-house kitchen can provide you with a sumptuous breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Opal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Inn Coober Pedy, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing