We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
73
115
54
27
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
115
54
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground bar underground room above ground no lift mini bar underground tunnel historical displays flights of stairs opal shop outback town lamb shank hotel room enjoyable stay unique experience opal fields the main street sleeping underground
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

I booked a two night three day package through the hotel.

It included an excellent mix of free time and a couple of tours that covered all aspects of Coober Pedy including the geological history, discovery of the first opal, development of the town/mines and characters who have shaped it over that time.

The staff and facilities are excellent.

I highly recommend a trip here!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Grant S,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review on your recent stay with us. Happy to read you completed a couple of tours and really got to experience the uniqueness that is Coober Pedy.
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Underground studio with ensuite - was very nice but the rock walls and ceiling made it quite special. Laundry facilities available, also restaurant & cafe. Informative & interesting viewing gallery underground featuring historical pictures & written dialogue outlining the birth of Coober Pedy as the opal capital. Tarif was $180 for the night. Well worth it - the opinion of both my husband & I

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank davemoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear davemoana,
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review on your recent stay with us. Happy to read you stayed in an underground room and enjoyed our facilities.
Looks like you got a great rate for the night as well.
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

A big shout out loud to Grace from STA travel who enabled us to have the amazing experience of sleeping underground in this very interesting hotel .. a must do
And for Groovey Grape to get us here
The walls and rooms are craved out of solid rock !!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Deborah,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Happy to read you enjoyed the underground experience.
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and the experience was superb. Got to say that those Sri Lankan boys in the reception are the best. If you need to know what to do, where to eat etc, these boys will help you out.

Love the hotel. If you are staying, 1st thing to do is walk around the hotel. Its lovely.

We all love the underground room experience. Its unique.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Strikeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Strikeee,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. I'm glad our staff were able to look after you, and you enjoyed your time here. The undferground rooms can certainly be a memorable expereince. Will pass your comments onto the team.
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay in the accommodation but we had a wonderful dinner there and the next day did a little shopping and had a coffee in the beautiful cafe. The lovey lady at Opalis on main st told us to go there even though we weren't guests we could still enjoy what it had to offer.
The restaurant was wonderful, service was fantastic and very professional. The food was so good ( preset menu of soup and lamb shanks was the bomb) heaps of food choices plus a great kids menu.
The cafe and gift shop was lovely the next day. Great set up
All underground and cut out of the hill. There was more choice of touristy things in the gift shop and less opals. If I had been child free I would have loved to check out the night life there as well as it looked really nice in the bar area.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Lena B,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Happy to read you enjoyed our facilities including our Restaurant Umbertos. Will pass your positive comments onto the team!
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews